

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

SECOND SESSION

THIRTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

Bill 215 (Private)

An Act respecting Ville de Rouyn-Noranda

Introduction

Introduced by Mr. Daniel Bernard Member for Rouyn-Noranda–Témiscamingue

Québec Official Publisher 2012

Bill 215

(Private)

AN ACT RESPECTING VILLE DE ROUYN-NORANDA

AS Order in Council 1478-2001 dated 12 December 2001 (2001, G.O. 2, 6960) constituted Ville de Rouyn-Noranda, resulting from the amalgamation of Ville de Cadillac and Ville de Rouyn-Noranda as well as the municipalities of Arntfield, Bellecombe, Cléricy, Cloutier, D'Alembert, Destor, Évain, McWatters, Mont-Brun, Montbeillard and Rollet;

AS, under section 39 of the Order in Council, the territory of Ville de Rouyn-Noranda is divided into 14 electoral districts;

AS, for the 2013 general election and any by-election held before the 2017 general election, it is expedient that Ville de Rouyn-Noranda be divided into 12 electoral districts;

AS, for the subsequent elections, it is expedient that the division of Ville de Rouyn-Noranda into electoral districts be governed by the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (R.S.Q., chapter E-2.2);

THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

1. For the purposes of the 2013 general election and any by-election held before the 2017 general election, the territory of Ville de Rouyn-Noranda is divided into 12 electoral districts.

2. For the purposes of the general election to be held in November 2013 in the territory of Ville de Rouyn-Noranda, the date stated in the first paragraph of section 21 of the Act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (R.S.Q., chapter E-2.2) is replaced by "1 November" and the date stated in section 30 of that Act is replaced by "31 March 2013".

3. Section 39 of Order in Council 1478-2001 dated 12 December 2001 (2001, G.O. 2, 6960), respecting the amalgamation of Ville de Cadillac and Ville de Rouyn-Noranda as well as the municipalities of Arntfield, Bellecombe, Cléricy, Cloutier, D'Alembert, Destor, Évain, McWatters, Mont-Brun, Montbeillard and Rollet, is repealed.

4. This Act comes into force on (*insert the date of assent to this Act*).