

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

SECOND SESSION

THIRTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

Bill 2

Legal Time Act

Introduction

Introduced by Mr. Yvon Marcoux Minister of Justice

EXPLANATORY NOTES

This bill is to replace the Official Time Act. Its main objective is to have daylight saving time begin on the second Sunday in March instead of the first Sunday in April, and have it end on the first Sunday in November, one week later than is currently the case.

The bill also seeks to accommodate the customs and practices of a portion of the Québec population, particularly the people living east of the meridian of 63 degrees West longitude.

Lastly, the bill replaces the concepts of official time and Greenwich mean time by those of legal time and coordinated universal time.

Bill 2

LEGAL TIME ACT

THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

1. In the part of Québec lying west of the meridian of 63 degrees West longitude, the legal time is Eastern Standard Time, that is, five hours behind coordinated universal time (UTC - 5 h).

However, from the second Sunday in March at 2:00 a.m. to the first Sunday in November at 2:00 a.m., the legal time in that part of Québec is Eastern Daylight Saving Time, that is, four hours behind coordinated universal time (UTC - 4 h).

This section also applies to all of the territory of Municipalité régionale de comté de Minganie.

2. In the part of Québec lying east of the meridian of 63 degrees West longitude, and in the territory of the Listuguj reserve, the legal time is Atlantic Standard Time, that is, four hours behind coordinated universal time (UTC - 4 h).

However, from the second Sunday in March at 2:00 a.m. to the first Sunday in November at 2:00 a.m., the legal time in the Îles-de-la-Madeleine and in the territory of the Listuguj reserve is Atlantic Daylight Saving Time, that is, three hours behind coordinated universal time (UTC - 3 h).

- **3.** The Minister of Justice is responsible for the administration of this Act.
- **4.** This Act replaces the Official Time Act (R.S.Q., chapter T-6).
- **5.** This Act comes into force on 1 January 2007.