National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

  • Live on the Web

Skip Navigation Links225th Anniversary Programming

Member of Parliament Arriving in Québec City
Canada

Member of Parliament Arriving in Québec City

Parliament Building forecourt, July 6, 2018

The monument Member of Parliament Arriving in Québec, a significant legacy of the 225th anniversary of our parliamentary institutions, made possible in part by a Government of Canada grant, was inspired by the original bronze by Québec artist Alfred Laliberté, commemorate Québec’s first Parliament (Bishop’s Palace).

The monument, now standing in the Parliament Building forecourt, recalls the arrival of the first Members, following the 1792 elections, and bears witness to our rich parliamentary history.

Learn about the monument, from its origins to the present!

The exhibition 1792. A Parliament is Born

Parliament Building Visitor Centre
April 4, 2017 to
April 4, 2018

Rare and precious artifacts shed new light on Lower Canada’s parliamentary history. This exhibition recounts the reform movement that inspired the Lower Canadian Members. This movement is still the basis of Québec’s parliamentary practices today.

Take a virtual tour of the exhibition (in French), a wonderful complement to the actual showing that ended on April 4, 2018.

1792 : à main levée

A must-have volume combining history, politics and comic strips!

One of the oldest French-language comic strips, which featured our first elections, was published in Québec City in 1792! Discover four key moments in our democracy 225 years later through the work of talented comic artists Vincent Giard, Réal Godbout, VAN and VoRo.

Available at the National Assembly gift shop, in bookstores and online.

Upcoming conferences

Throughout the year, the authors of 1792 : à main levée will discuss the context surrounding production of this original volume. Conferences on Lower Canada’s political and parliamentary history will be added to our anniversary year programming.

Time capsule

Parliament Building, December 2017

Time capsules are sealed containers filled with objects typical of life at a given time, generally buried for discovery by future generations. The contents of the National Assembly’s time capsule will be revealed only in 2092 to mark the 300th anniversary of the 1792 elections. The time capsule will be available for public viewing when the new reception pavilion opens in 2019.

New engravings in the woodwork

Parliament Building, December 2017

In December 2017, the names of four historic figures of Lower Canada, Members William Grant and Augustin-Norbert Morin and legislative councillors Thomas Dunn and Joseph-Octave Plessis, have been added to those already engraved in the Parliament Building’s woodwork.

Consult the engravings brochure of the Parliament Building.

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Liens Ignorer la navigationProgrammation du 225e anniversaire

Vignette représentant l’exposition 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement

Exposition 1792. La naissance d’un Parlement

Centre des visiteurs de l’hôtel du Parlement, jusqu’au 4 avril 2018

Des artéfacts rares et précieux nous permettent de jeter un regard neuf sur l'histoire parlementaire du Bas-Canada. Cette exposition raconte le mouvement de réformes qui a animé les députés bas-canadiens. Celui-ci constitue, encore aujourd’hui, les fondements des pratiques parlementaires actuelles.

Visitez l’exposition virtuelle, complément extraordinaire à l’exposition.

Couverture du recueil 1792 : à main levée

Recueil 1792: à main levée

Un ouvrage incontournable alliant histoire, politique et bande dessinée!

C’est en 1792 qu’une première bande dessinée francophone est publiée à Québec : une BD qui a pour sujet les premières élections de notre histoire! Grâce aux talentueux bédéistes Vincent Giard, Réal Godbout, VAN et VoRo, découvrez, 225 ans plus tard, quatre moments clés de notre démocratie.

Disponible à la Boutique de l’Assemblée nationale, en librairies ou en ligne

Vignette représentant les conférences à venir dans le cadre du 225e anniversaire des institutions parlementaires du Québec

Conférences à venir (dates mises à jour régulièrement)

Durant l’année, les auteurs de 1792: à main levée aborderont le contexte de production de ce recueil original. Des conférences sur l'histoire politique et parlementaire du Bas-Canada s'ajouteront à la programmation.

Vignette représentant une capsule temporelle

Capsule temporelle

Hôtel du Parlement, décembre 2017

Une capsule temporelle est un contenant scellé renfermant des objets qui constituent un témoignage destiné aux générations futures. Son contenu ne sera dévoilé qu’en 2092, l'année du 300e anniversaire des élections de 1792. Elle sera accessible au grand public lors de l’ouverture du nouveau pavillon d’accueil en 2019.

Vignette représentant les nouvelles gravures dans les boiseries

Nouvelles gravures dans les boiseries

Hôtel du Parlement, décembre 2017

Le nom de quatre figures historiques du Bas-Canada sera ajouté aux boiseries de l’hôtel du Parlement en décembre 2017. Il s’agit des députés William Grant et Augustin-Norbert Morin ainsi que des conseillers législatifs Thomas Dunn et Joseph-Octave Plessis.