National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > Visitors > Chefs at Le Parlementaire Restaurant share their stories

Chefs at Le Parlementaire Restaurant share their stories

The team at Le Parlementaire Restaurant includes many important players, not least of which are three seasoned chefs who share a great passion for cooking. We asked them to tell us where their love of food originated and their philosophies about all things culinary.

Martin Gagné – Head Chef

Martin Gagné – Head Chef"I am originally from Sherbrooke. I am passionate about the science and art of good eating and am a big believer in using locally-sourced food products. I enjoy combining authentic Amerindian cuisine with the latest culinary trends. I take real pleasure in meeting daily kitchen challenges and am proud to be able to share the expertise gained over 25 years in production and culinary creation to ensure that dining in our historic, prestigious Le Parlementaire Restaurant is truly a unique and unforgettable gastronomic experience.

My secret recipe for success? Bringing a northern perspective to my cooking that reflects my beliefs and lifestyle. Cooking is like taking a journey into the very heart of ourselves and the world we live in. It is the noblest and most essential act of unconditional love. For me, above all else, cooking is about creating happiness."

Yves Légaré – Executive Chef

Yves Légaré – Executive Chef"I am a native of Québec City and the fourth-born in a family of six boys. I started working in the restaurant business at the age of 14 as a cook’s assistant to earn some pocket money. That’s when I fell in love with cooking! As soon as I was old enough, I rushed off to culinary school to learn all about this profession that I still dearly love today.

My philosophy in the kitchen? Discovering new foods that are locally grown and produced in Québec, coming up with fresh new ideas, creating new recipes, being innovative with the visual presentation of culinary dishes and sharing my expertise with others!

My secret recipe for success? I always make sure to use high-quality fresh ingredients that are preserved in the most natural manner possible... with a touch of carefully chosen herbs and spices!"

Renée Lévesque – Executive Sous-Chef

Renée Lévesque – Executive Sous-Chef"I am from the Kamouraska region and am the last-born in a family of eight children. My most cherished memories go back to family gatherings during the holiday season when as a child I would sit on the stair steps intently watching my aunt and mother cook. I loved imitating their movements on my little pink toy oven! Without knowing it, I was discovering the culinary world with child-like wonder. It was most likely the spark that ignited my life-long passion for this profession.

My cooking style in a few words? Genuine, generous, comforting and constantly evolving! I believe that dining must be a feast first for the eyes and then for the palate… For me, being a chef is not just a job, it’s a vocation.

My secret recipe for success? One important thing: Access to a kitchen garden with fresh produce to inspire you… the rest is magic!"

You can write to our culinary chefs at: resto@assnat.qc.ca

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Accueil > Visiteurs > La petite histoire des chefs du restaurant Le Parlementaire

La petite histoire des chefs du restaurant Le Parlementaire

L’équipe du restaurant Le Parlementaire se compose de nombreuses ressources, dont trois chefs expérimentés et passionnés. Nous leur avons demandé d’où venait leur amour pour l’alimentation et quelle était leur philosophie en cuisine.

Martin Gagné – Chef des cuisines

Martin Gagné – Chef des cuisines« Sherbrookois d’origine et artiste passionné par les produits du terroir, j’ai réussi à fusionner fine cuisine amérindienne et nouvelles tendances gastronomiques. Prenant un réel plaisir à relever des défis au quotidien, je désire mettre à profit mon expertise de plus de 25 ans en production et en création culinaire pour ainsi contribuer à faire rayonner ce lieu historique, prestigieux et unique en son genre que représente Le Parlementaire.

Ma touche secrète? L’adoption d’une vision nordique d’une cuisine qui me ressemble et convient bien à mon mode de vie. Cuisiner, c’est comme un voyage au cœur de soi et du monde. C’est avant tout un acte d’amour sans condition, le plus noble et le plus essentiel. La cuisine, pour moi, doit à tout prix engendrer le bonheur. »

 

Yves Légaré – Chef exécutif

Yves Légaré – Chef exécutif« Originaire de Québec, j’occupe le quatrième rang d’une famille de six garçons. J’ai commencé à travailler en restauration dès l’âge de 14 ans, comme aide-cuisinier pour gagner un peu d’argent de poche. C’est à ce moment que je suis tombé en amour avec le métier de cuisinier! Aussitôt que j’ai eu l’âge requis, je me suis précipité à l’école pour apprendre ce métier qui me passionne encore aujourd’hui.

Ma philosophie en cuisine? Découvrir les nouveaux produits du terroir québécois, chercher de nouvelles idées, créer des recettes, innover dans la présentation visuelle des plats et partager mon savoir-faire!

La touche secrète pour réussir mes plats : de bons aliments frais, gardés le plus naturellement possible, avec une touche d’herbes et d’épices bien choisies! »

 

Renée Lévesque – Sous-chef exécutive

Renée Lévesque – Sous-chef exécutive« Je suis originaire de la région du Kamouraska, dernière d'une famille de huit enfants. Mes meilleurs souvenirs remontent aux rencontres familiales du temps des fêtes où, assise dans les escaliers, je regardais ma tante et ma mère cuisiner. J'adorais les imiter avec ma petite cuisinière rose! Sans le savoir, je découvrais le monde de la gastronomie. C'est probablement l'étincelle qui a allumé ma passion pour ce métier.

Ma cuisine en quelques mots? Authentique, généreuse, réconfortante et en constante évolution! Elle se déguste avec la bouche et les yeux. Pour moi, cuisiner est davantage une passion qu'un métier.

La touche secrète pour réussir mes plats : un potager bien garni et voilà, la magie opère! »

 
Écrire aux chefs : resto@assnat.qc.ca