

Bill 51

An Act to amend the Territorial Division Act and other legislative provisions

Introduction

Introduced by Mr. Bertrand St-Arnaud Minister of Justice

Québec Official Publisher 2013

EXPLANATORY NOTES

This bill replaces the name of the judicial district of Hull and the name of its chief place by the name Gatineau.

The bill makes changes to the description of the areas located within the boundaries of the district, in particular, to the list of municipalities situated within it and to the description of the territory over which concurrent jurisdiction is exercised in the district and another district.

The bill gives the Government the regulatory power to change the name of any judicial district or chief place and to update the description of the areas located within the boundaries of a district.

Lastly, the bill allows the Government to establish, by regulation, that concurrent jurisdiction is to be exercised over a municipality whose boundaries overlap multiple judicial districts.

LEGISLATION AMENDED BY THIS BILL:

- Territorial Division Act (chapter D-11);
- Courts of Justice Act (chapter T-16).

Bill 51

AN ACT TO AMEND THE TERRITORIAL DIVISION ACT AND OTHER LEGISLATIVE PROVISIONS

THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

TERRITORIAL DIVISION ACT

1. Section 9 of the Territorial Division Act (chapter D-11) is amended, in paragraph 11,

(1) by replacing "Hull" in the heading by "Gatineau" and "Hull" by "Gatineau";

- (2) by replacing "Hull" in the first paragraph by "Gatineau";
- (3) by replacing the second paragraph by the following paragraph:

"This judicial district includes the following local municipalities: the towns of Gatineau, Gracefield and Thurso; the municipalities of L'Ange-Gardien, Boileau, Cantley, Chelsea, Chénéville, Denholm, Fassett, Kazabazua, Lac-Sainte-Marie, Lac-Simon, Mayo, Montebello, Montpellier, Mulgrave-et-Derry, Namur, Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours, Notre-Dame-de-la-Paix, Notre-Damede-la-Salette, Papineauville, Plaisance, Ripon, Saint-André-Avellin, Saint-Émile-de-Suffolk, Saint-Sixte, Val-des-Bois and Val-des-Monts; the township municipalities of Lochaber, Lochaber-Partie-Ouest and Low; that part of Municipalité de Bouchette situated in the township of Northfield, that part of Municipalité de Bowman situated in the township of Bowman, that part of Municipalité de Blue Sea situated in the township of Wright, that part of Municipalité de Duhamel situated in the townships of Papineau and Preston, that part of Municipalité de Lac-des-Plages situated in the township of Addington, that part of Municipalité de Notre-Dame-du-Laus situated in the township of Blake, that part of Municipalité de La Pêche situated in the townships of Masham and Wakefield, that part of Municipalité de Pontiac situated in the township of Eardley and, finally, the parts of Municipalité du canton d'Amherst situated in the townships of Addington and Ponsonby.";

(4) by replacing "the unorganized territories situated" in the third paragraph by "the unorganized territory situated".

2. The Act is amended by inserting the following section after section 9:

"9.1. The Government may, by regulation, change the name of judicial districts or the name of chief places. It may also update the description of the areas located within the boundaries of districts, including the list of municipalities situated within them.

Such a regulation may also contain any necessary transitional or concordance provision, including amendments to any other Act or regulation."

COURTS OF JUSTICE ACT

3. The Courts of Justice Act (chapter T-16) is amended by inserting the following section after section 5.5:

"5.6. Where the territory of a municipality overlaps two or more districts, the Government may, by regulation, amend Schedule I to establish that concurrent jurisdiction is to be exercised in those districts."

4. Section 24 of the Act is amended by replacing "Hull" by "Gatineau".

5. Section 32 of the Act is amended

(1) by replacing "Hull" wherever it appears in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph by "Gatineau";

(2) by replacing "for the districts of Hull, Labelle and Pontiac, with residence at Hull" in subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph by "for the districts of Gatineau, Labelle and Pontiac, with residence at Gatineau".

6. Schedule I to the Act is amended

(1) by replacing, in the column listing the judicial districts, "Hull and Labelle" by "Gatineau and Labelle", "Hull and Pontiac" by "Gatineau and Pontiac" and "Hull and Terrebonne" by "Gatineau and Terrebonne";

(2) by replacing "Over the townships of Wright, Aylwin, Northfield, Blake, McGill, Wells, Bigelow and over that part of the territory of the municipality of Duhamel situated in the township of Gagnon." in the column describing the territory over which concurrent jurisdiction is exercised for the districts of Hull and Labelle by "Over the territory of the municipalities of Blue Sea, Bouchette, Bowman, Duhamel and Notre-Dame-du-Laus and over the territory of Municipalité du canton d'Amherst.";

(3) by replacing "over that part of the municipality of Lac-des-Plages situated in the township of Amherst" in the column describing the territory over which concurrent jurisdiction is exercised for the districts of Hull and Terrebonne by "over the territory of Municipalité de Lac-des-Plages".

AMENDING AND FINAL PROVISIONS

7. In any other Act and in any regulation, "Hull" is replaced by "Gatineau" when in reference to the judicial district or to the chief place of the district.

In any other act or document, a reference to the district of Hull is a reference to the district of Gatineau and a reference to Hull is a reference to Gatineau when in reference to the chief place of the district.

8. This Act comes into force on (*insert the date of the 30th day following the date of assent to this Act*).