Citizen Round Table - The Call for Applications

Deadline for applications: Wednesday, May 19, 2021, 11:59 p.m.

Citizen participation and democratic life are important to you? Do you have proposals for improving current public consultation mechanisms or new ideas for promoting citizen participation at the National Assembly?

We want to hear you!

What is the Citizen Round Table?

The Citizen Round Table is a consultation on how to facilitate the participation of Québec citizens in parliamentary work and activities.

Virtual focus groups will be held between June 14 and 17, 2021. Participants will have the opportunity to express themselves on the difficulties that hinder their participation at the National Assembly and propose concrete ways to improve existing consultation mechanisms or to implement new ones.

The Citizen Round Table is part of a parliamentary reform process. The report of the consultation will be submitted to the MNAs in order to fuel their reflection on the reform. The highlights will be made public in the autumn of 2021.

A random draw will be made from among the eligible applications, taking into account demographic representation targets of the Québec population.

The persons selected will participate in a focus group lasting approximately two and a half hours between June 14 and 17, 2021. The National Assembly is committed to preserving the anonymity of the participants.

Taking part in the Citizen Round Table is a unique opportunity to contribute to the reflection on citizen participation at the heart of Québec's first democratic institution. Do not miss this chance and submit your application now!

Important dates

  • April 19 to May 19, 2021: Call for applications
  • May 19, 2021, at 11:59 p.m.: Deadline for applications
  • May 25 to 28, 2021: Random draw and contact of the selected persons
  • June 14 to 17, 2021: Holding focus groups (allow about two and a half hours)
  • Autumn 2021: Presentation of results to the parliamentarians and publication of highlights

What is the Citizen Round Table?

The Citizen Round Table is a consultation on how to facilitate the participation of Québec citizens in parliamentary work and activities.

Virtual focus groups will be held between June 14 and 17, 2021. Participants will have the opportunity to express themselves on the difficulties that hinder their participation at the National Assembly and propose concrete ways to improve existing consultation mechanisms or to implement new ones.

The Citizen Round Table is part of a parliamentary reform process. The report of the consultation will be submitted to the MNAs in order to fuel their reflection on the reform. The highlights will be made public in the autumn of 2021.

A random draw will be made from among the eligible applications, taking into account demographic representation targets of the Québec population.

The persons selected will participate in a focus group lasting approximately two and a half hours between June 14 and 17, 2021. The National Assembly is committed to preserving the anonymity of the participants.

Taking part in the Citizen Round Table is a unique opportunity to contribute to the reflection on citizen participation at the heart of Québec's first democratic institution. Do not miss this chance and submit your application now!

Important dates

  • April 19 to May 19, 2021: Call for applications
  • May 19, 2021, at 11:59 p.m.: Deadline for applications
  • May 25 to 28, 2021: Random draw and contact of the selected persons
  • June 14 to 17, 2021: Holding focus groups (allow about two and a half hours)
  • Autumn 2021: Presentation of results to the parliamentarians and publication of highlights

Would you like to participate?

Consultation topics

The National Assembly wishes to better understand the needs of citizens and gather their suggestions for improving their participation in parliamentary proceedings. The participants of the Citizen Round Table will express their views on how to:

  • launch, sign and consult petitions;
  • participate in public consultations in parliamentary committees (tabling briefs and hearings);
  • send comments to MNAs on a bill or other issue under consideration;
  • obtain information on parliamentary proceedings and on how to participate in them;
  • promote citizen participation at the National Assembly through new initiatives.

No prior knowledge or experience is required. The National Assembly wishes to bring together citizens with varying degrees of knowledge and experience in political and parliamentary matters.

Information on these different topics will be provided to participants prior to the focus groups. No preparation is necessary.

Want to know more about current public participation mechanisms? Visit the Voice Your Opinion section of the National Assembly website.

Consultation topics

The National Assembly wishes to better understand the needs of citizens and gather their suggestions for improving their participation in parliamentary proceedings. The participants of the Citizen Round Table will express their views on how to:

  • launch, sign and consult petitions;
  • participate in public consultations in parliamentary committees (tabling briefs and hearings);
  • send comments to MNAs on a bill or other issue under consideration;
  • obtain information on parliamentary proceedings and on how to participate in them;
  • promote citizen participation at the National Assembly through new initiatives.

No prior knowledge or experience is required. The National Assembly wishes to bring together citizens with varying degrees of knowledge and experience in political and parliamentary matters.

Information on these different topics will be provided to participants prior to the focus groups. No preparation is necessary.

Want to know more about current public participation mechanisms? Visit the Voice Your Opinion section of the National Assembly website.

How to submit your application

Send your completed application form before May 19, 2021, 11:59 p.m.

Submit your application
Need help filling in the online form? Contact us.

To take part in the Citizen Round Table, you must:

  • be available to join a focus group between June 14 and 17, 2021;
  • be 18 years of age or older;
  • have resided in Québec for at least six months;
  • be able to express yourself in French OR English;
  • have access to a computer, a video camera and an Internet network OR be able to travel by your own means and at your own expense to the National Assembly (Québec City);
  • submit your online application form by May 19, 2021, 11:59 p.m.

The following persons are not eligible:

  • elected officials (federal, provincial, municipal, school);
  • paid staff of a political party or elected official (federal, provincial, municipal, school);
  • the administrative staff of the National Assembly of Québec;
  • the spouse, children and family members living in the same household as the ineligible persons mentioned above.

Interested parties must commit to participating in the discussions on an individual basis, to maintaining partisan neutrality and to respecting a participation charter for the proper conduct of the focus groups.

Stages of the consultation process

Stage 1

Submit your application by filling in the online form between April 19 and May 19, 2021, 11:59 p.m.

Stage 2

The Citizen Round Table will seek to reflect the diversity of Québec today. A random draw will be made from among the eligible applications received, taking into account sociodemographic representation targets of the Québec population. The selected persons will be contacted no later than May 28, 2021, to confirm their participation. The National Assembly will contact only those candidates selected.

Stage 3

Additional information will be sent to participants in early June. National Assembly staff will be available to provide support to those who wish to receive it. This will be an opportunity to answer your questions regarding the holding of the focus groups and to check that your computer resources are working properly.

Stage 4

The Citizen Round Table will take place from Monday, June 14 to Thursday, June 17, 2021. You will be invited to choose a time slot that suits you, either in the morning, afternoon or evening. The focus groups will take place virtually and will last approximately two and a half hours, including a short introductory presentation. One meeting will take place in English. A group could meet in person at the Parliament in Québec City, if the health context allows it.

Stage 5

The consultation report will be presented to the MNAs and the highlights will be published in the autumn of 2021. The information gathered will contribute to the Members’ reflection during the parliamentary reform process.

Approach and methodology

Random draw

A random draw by stratified sampling will be carried out. This selection method allows for the random selection of individuals, while aiming for a certain sociodemographic representation of the population. The following variables will be considered in the draw:

  • Gender identity (female, male, non-binary)
  • Age groups
  • Indigenous identity
  • Ethnocultural diversity
  • Language diversity (French, English)
  • Regional diversity (17 administrative regions of Québec)

Establishment of the focus groups

A minimum of 48 participants will be chosen by random draw.  Alternates will be added to this number. The National Assembly reserves the right to increase the number of participants if it deems it appropriate.

The focus groups will be carried out online using the Teams platform. At least one group will be hosted in English. National Assembly staff will contact participants in advance to ensure that the computer resources are working properly.

Are you unable to attend a virtual meeting? A focus group could be held in person at the National Assembly, if the health context allows it (French group only). Costs and transportation arrangements are the responsibility of the participants.

Data processing and publication of results

The information gathered in the focus groups will be analyzed and compiled by the National Assembly's neutral and qualified administrative staff.

The National Assembly is committed to protecting personal information and preserving the anonymity of participants. The comments will be anonymized in the documents that will be presented to the parliamentarians and made public in the fall of 2021.

Frequently asked questions

A focus group is a research method that consists of bringing together about ten people to discuss a chosen theme. The aim of the discussion is not to establish a consensus. Rather, it is an open discussion that allows participants to express their own opinions and points of view. The meeting is moderated by a facilitator.

Plan to spend about two and a half hours in the focus group, including a short introductory presentation. Indicate the time that suits you best by filling in the application form (morning, afternoon, evening).

Depending on your needs, the National Assembly staff is available before the event to answer your questions and ensure that your computer resources are working properly.

Of course you can! No previous experience or knowledge is required. The National Assembly wants to bring together people with different profiles and different levels of knowledge about politics and parliamentarianism. Anyone can join the Citizen Round Table!

Yes, if you have access to a computer, a video camera and an adequate Internet connection. The majority of the focus groups will take place virtually. This means that you can participate from wherever you are.

Yes. At least one focus group will be held in English. Choose this option in the application form.

Yes. Certain focus groups will be held in the evening to accommodate people in your situation. Choose the times that suit you best in the application form.

Possibly. The National Assembly will hold an in-person focus group at the Parliament to accommodate those who are unable to participate virtually. This meeting will only take place if the health context allows it. If you choose this option, please note that you will be responsible for the costs and arrangements for transportation to the National Assembly (Québec City).

Yes, but you will need to commit to being party neutral when participating in the focus group.

No, you will not. No financial compensation will be paid to participants. However, the Citizen Round Table offers you a unique opportunity to share your opinions and proposals on public participation at the National Assembly.

Yes. The information collected will be processed by a small team of neutral and qualified administrative staff of the National Assembly. The information will be anonymized before being presented to parliamentarians and published in the highlights of the consultation process. Participants will also be required to sign a confidentiality agreement.

No. In addition to the citizens selected, only the administrative staff of the National Assembly will be present to facilitate the meetings and ensure that the focus groups run smoothly. Moreover, elected officials from the federal, provincial, municipal and school levels are not eligible to participate.

Yes. A report of the consultation will be provided to parliamentarians. Highlights will be made public in the autumn of 2021.

Parliamentary reform is a long and complex process that aims to make changes to the functioning of the institution and the organization of parliamentary work (rules, parliamentary procedure, etc.). Several elements have to be considered and are discussed among MNAs.

The information gathered in the Citizen Round Table focus groups will be used to help MNAs reflect on the changes that could be made to the National Assembly's public participation mechanisms.

Would you like to participate?

Table citoyenne - L'appel de candidatures

Date limite pour soumettre votre candidature : 19 mai 2021, 23 h 59

La participation citoyenne et la vie démocratique vous tiennent à cœur?  Vous avez des propositions pour améliorer les mécanismes de consultation publique actuels ou de nouvelles idées pour favoriser la participation citoyenne à l’Assemblée nationale?

Nous voulons vous entendre!

Qu'est-ce que la Table citoyenne?

La Table citoyenne est une consultation sur les moyens de faciliter la participation des citoyennes et citoyens du Québec aux travaux et aux activités parlementaires.

Des groupes de discussion virtuels se tiendront entre le 14 et le 17 juin 2021. Les participantes et participants pourront s’exprimer sur les difficultés qui nuisent à leur participation à l’Assemblée nationale et proposer des moyens concrets d’améliorer les mécanismes de consultation existants ou d’en implanter de nouveaux.

La Table citoyenne s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un processus de réforme parlementaire. Le rapport de la consultation sera remis aux députées et députés afin d’alimenter leur réflexion sur la réforme. Les faits saillants seront rendus publics au cours de l’automne 2021.

Un tirage au sort sera effectué parmi les candidatures admissibles, en tenant compte de cibles de représentativité démographique de la population québécoise.

Les personnes choisies participeront à un groupe de discussion d’environ deux heures trente entre le 14 et le 17 juin 2021. L’Assemblée nationale s’engage à préserver l’anonymat des personnes participantes.

Prendre part à la Table citoyenne, c’est une occasion unique de contribuer à la réflexion sur la participation citoyenne, au cœur de la première institution démocratique du Québec. Ne manquez pas cette chance et soumettez votre candidature dès maintenant!

Dates importantes

  • 19 avril au 19 mai 2021 : Appel de candidatures
  • 19 mai 2021 à 23 h 59 : Date limite pour soumettre votre candidature
  • 25 au 28 mai 2021 : Tirage au sort et contact des personnes sélectionnées
  • 14 au 17 juin 2021 : Tenue des groupes de discussion (prévoir environ deux heures trente)
  • Automne 2021 : Présentation des résultats aux parlementaires et publication des faits saillants

Qu'est ce que la Table citoyenne?

La Table citoyenne est une consultation sur les moyens de faciliter la participation des citoyennes et citoyens du Québec aux travaux et aux activités parlementaires.

Des groupes de discussion virtuels se tiendront entre le 14 et le 17 juin 2021. Les participantes et participants pourront s’exprimer sur les difficultés qui nuisent à leur participation à l’Assemblée nationale et proposer des moyens concrets d’améliorer les mécanismes de consultation existants ou d’en implanter de nouveaux.

La Table citoyenne s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un processus de réforme parlementaire. Le rapport de la consultation sera remis aux députées et députés afin d’alimenter leur réflexion sur la réforme. Les faits saillants seront rendus publics au cours de l’automne 2021.

Un tirage au sort sera effectué parmi les candidatures admissibles, en tenant compte de cibles de représentativité démographique de la population québécoise.

Les personnes choisies participeront à un groupe de discussion d’environ deux heures trente entre le 14 et le 17 juin 2021. L’Assemblée nationale s’engage à préserver l’anonymat des personnes participantes.

Prendre part à la Table citoyenne, c’est une occasion unique de contribuer à la réflexion sur la participation citoyenne, au cœur de la première institution démocratique du Québec. Ne manquez pas cette chance et soumettez votre candidature dès maintenant!

Dates importantes

  • 19 avril au 19 mai 2021 : Appel de candidatures
  • 19 mai 2021 à 23 h 59 : Date limite pour soumettre votre candidature
  • 25 au 28 mai 2021 : Tirage au sort et contact des personnes sélectionnées
  • 14 au 17 juin 2021 : Tenue des groupes de discussion (prévoir environ deux heures trente)
  • Automne 2021 : Présentation des résultats aux parlementaires et publication des faits saillants

Vous désirez participer?

Thématiques de consultation

L’Assemblée nationale souhaite mieux comprendre les besoins des citoyennes et citoyens et recueillir leurs suggestions en vue d’améliorer leur participation aux travaux parlementaires. Les participantes et participants de la Table citoyenne s’exprimeront sur les manières :

  • de lancer, de signer et de consulter des pétitions;
  • de participer aux consultations publiques en commission parlementaire (dépôt de mémoires et auditions);
  • de transmettre des commentaires aux députés sur un projet de loi ou un autre sujet à l’étude;
  • d’obtenir de l’information sur les travaux parlementaires et sur les manières d’y participer;
  • de favoriser la participation citoyenne à l’Assemblée nationale par le biais de nouvelles initiatives.

Aucune connaissance ni expérience préalable n’est requise. L’Assemblée nationale souhaite réunir des citoyennes et citoyens ayant différents degrés de connaissance et d’expérience en matière politique et parlementaire.

De l’information sur ces différents sujets sera communiquée aux participantes et participants avant la tenue des groupes de discussion. Aucune préparation n’est nécessaire.

Vous désirez en savoir plus sur les mécanismes actuels de participation publique? Visitez la section Exprimez votre opinion! du site Web de l’Assemblée nationale.

Thématiques de consultation

L’Assemblée nationale souhaite mieux comprendre les besoins des citoyennes et citoyens et recueillir leurs suggestions en vue d’améliorer leur participation aux travaux parlementaires. Les participantes et participants de la Table citoyenne s’exprimeront sur les manières :

  • de lancer, de signer et de consulter des pétitions;
  • de participer aux consultations publiques en commission parlementaire (dépôt de mémoires et auditions);
  • de transmettre des commentaires aux députés sur un projet de loi ou un autre sujet à l’étude;
  • d’obtenir de l’information sur les travaux parlementaires et sur les manières d’y participer;
  • de favoriser la participation citoyenne à l’Assemblée nationale par le biais de nouvelles initiatives.

Aucune connaissance ni expérience préalable n’est requise. L’Assemblée nationale souhaite réunir des citoyennes et citoyens ayant différents degrés de connaissance et d’expérience en matière politique et parlementaire.

De l’information sur ces différents sujets sera communiquée aux participantes et participants avant la tenue des groupes de discussion. Aucune préparation n’est nécessaire.

Vous désirez en savoir plus sur les mécanismes actuels de participation publique? Visitez la section Exprimez votre opinion! du site Web de l’Assemblée nationale.

Comment soumettre votre candidature

Envoyez votre formulaire de candidature dûment rempli avant le 19 mai 2021, 23 h 59.

Soumettre ma candidature
Vous avez besoin d’aide pour remplir le formulaire en ligne? Contactez-nous.

Pour prendre part à la Table citoyenne, vous devez :

  • être disponible pour vous joindre à un groupe de discussion entre le 14 et le 17 juin 2021;
  • avoir 18 ans ou plus;
  • avoir votre domicile au Québec depuis au moins six mois;
  • être capable de vous exprimer en français OU en anglais;
  • avoir accès à un ordinateur, à une caméra vidéo et à un réseau Internet OU pouvoir vous déplacer par vos propres moyens et à vos frais à l’Assemblée nationale (ville de Québec);
  • transmettre votre formulaire de candidature en ligne au plus tard le 19 mai 2021, 23 h 59.

Les personnes suivantes ne sont pas admissibles :

  • les personnes élues (fédéral, provincial, municipal, scolaire);
  • le personnel rémunéré d’un parti politique ou d’une personne élue (fédéral, provincial, municipal, scolaire);
  • le personnel administratif de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec;
  • la conjointe ou le conjoint, les enfants et les membres de la famille vivant sous le même toit que les personnes non admissibles précédemment mentionnées.

Les personnes intéressées doivent s’engager à participer aux échanges à titre individuel, à faire preuve de neutralité partisane et à respecter une charte de participation pour le bon déroulement des groupes de discussion.

Étapes de la démarche de consultation

Étape 1

Soumettez votre candidature en remplissant le formulaire en ligne entre le 19 avril et le 19 mai 2021, 23 h 59.

Étape 2

La Table citoyenne tendra à refléter la diversité du Québec actuel. Un tirage au sort sera effectué parmi les candidatures admissibles reçues, en tenant compte de cibles de représentativité sociodémographique de la population québécoise. Les personnes sélectionnées seront contactées au plus tard le 28 mai 2021 pour confirmer leur participation. L’Assemblée nationale ne communiquera qu’avec les candidates et candidats retenus.

Étape 3

Au début du mois de juin, de l’information complémentaire sera transmise aux participantes et participants. Le personnel de l’Assemblée nationale sera disponible pour accompagner les personnes qui le souhaitent. Ce sera l’occasion de répondre à vos questions concernant la tenue des groupes de discussion et de vérifier le bon fonctionnement de vos outils informatiques.

Étape 4

La Table citoyenne se déroulera du lundi 14 juin au jeudi 17 juin 2021. Vous pourrez choisir une plage horaire qui vous convient entre le matin, l’après-midi ou le soir. Les groupes de discussion se dérouleront virtuellement et seront d’une durée d’environ deux heures trente, incluant une courte présentation introductive. Une rencontre sera offerte en anglais. Un groupe pourrait se réunir en personne au parlement, à Québec, si le contexte sanitaire le permet.

Étape 5

Le rapport de la consultation sera présenté aux députés et les faits saillants seront publiés au cours de l’automne 2021. Les informations recueillies nourriront leur réflexion lors du processus de réforme parlementaire.

Démarche et méthodologie

Tirage au sort

Un tirage au sort par échantillonnage stratifié sera effectué. Cette méthode de sélection permet de choisir des personnes au hasard, tout en visant une certaine représentativité sociodémographique de la population. Les variables suivantes seront considérées lors du tirage :

  • Identité de genre (femme, homme, non-binaire)
  • Groupes d’âge
  • Identité autochtone
  • Diversité ethnoculturelle
  • Diversité linguistique (français, anglais)
  • Diversité régionale (17 régions administratives du Québec)

Constitution des groupes de discussion

Un minimum de 48 participants seront choisis par tirage au sort.  S’ajouteront à ce nombre des substituts. L’Assemblée nationale se réserve le droit d’augmenter le nombre de participants si elle le juge pertinent.

Les groupes de discussion se dérouleront en ligne à l’aide de la plateforme Teams. Au moins un groupe sera animé en anglais. Le personnel de l’Assemblée nationale contactera préalablement les participants pour s’assurer du bon fonctionnement des outils informatiques.

Vous êtes dans l’impossibilité de vous joindre à une rencontre virtuelle? Un groupe de discussion pourrait avoir lieu en présence à l’Assemblée nationale, si le contexte sanitaire le permet (groupe en français seulement). Les coûts et les modalités de transport sont à la charge des participants.

Traitement des données et publication des résultats

Les informations recueillies dans les groupes de discussion seront analysées et synthétisées par le personnel administratif, neutre et qualifié de l’Assemblée nationale.

L’Assemblée nationale s’engage à protéger les renseignements personnels et à préserver l’anonymat des participants. Les propos seront anonymisés dans les documents qui seront remis aux parlementaires et rendus publics au cours de l’automne 2021.

Foire aux questions

Un groupe de discussion, ou focus group, est une méthode de recherche qui consiste à réunir une dizaine de personnes pour discuter d’un thème défini. Les échanges ne visent pas à établir un consensus. Il s’agit plutôt d’une discussion ouverte qui permet aux participantes et participants d’exprimer leurs propres opinions et leurs points de vue. La rencontre est encadrée par une animatrice ou un animateur.

Prévoyez consacrer environ deux heures trente au groupe de discussion, incluant une courte présentation introductive. Indiquez le moment qui vous convient le mieux en remplissant le formulaire de candidature (avant-midi, après-midi, soir).

Selon vos besoins, le personnel de l’Assemblée nationale est disponible avant l’événement pour répondre à vos questions et vérifier le bon fonctionnement de vos outils informatiques.

Bien sûr! Aucune expérience ni connaissance préalable n’est requise. L’Assemblée nationale souhaite réunir des personnes ayant différents profils et différents degrés de connaissance sur la politique et le parlementarisme. Tout le monde peut prendre place à la Table citoyenne!

Oui. Si vous avez accès à un ordinateur, à une caméra vidéo et à une connexion Internet adéquate. La majorité des groupes de discussion se déroulera virtuellement. Vous pouvez ainsi participer, peu importe où vous vous trouvez.

Oui. Au moins un groupe de discussion se déroulera en anglais. Choisissez cette option dans le formulaire de candidature.

Oui. Des groupes de discussion auront lieu le soir pour accommoder les personnes dans votre situation. Choisissez les moments qui vous conviennent le mieux dans le formulaire de candidature.

Possiblement. L’Assemblée nationale tiendra un groupe de discussion en présence au parlement pour accommoder les personnes qui sont dans l’impossibilité de participer virtuellement. Cette rencontre n’aura lieu que si le contexte sanitaire le permet. Si vous choisissez cette option, notez que les frais et les modalités de transport jusqu’à l’Assemblée nationale (ville de Québec) sont à votre charge.

Oui. Toutefois, vous devrez vous engager à faire preuve de neutralité partisane lors de vos interventions dans le groupe de discussion.

Non. Aucune compensation financière ne sera versée aux personnes participantes. Par ailleurs, la Table citoyenne vous offre une occasion unique de partager vos opinions et vos propositions sur la participation publique à l’Assemblée nationale.

Oui. Les informations recueillies seront traitées par une équipe réduite parmi le personnel administratif neutre et qualifié de l’Assemblée nationale. Les propos seront anonymisés avant d’être présentés aux parlementaires et publiés dans les faits saillants de la démarche de consultation. Les participantes et participants devront également signer un engagement de confidentialité.

Non. Outre les citoyennes et citoyens sélectionnés, seul le personnel administratif de l’Assemblée nationale sera présent pour animer les rencontres et veiller au bon déroulement technique des groupes de discussion. De plus, les élues et élus des paliers fédéral, provincial, municipal et scolaire ne sont pas admissibles comme participants.

Oui. Un rapport de la consultation sera remis aux parlementaires. Les faits saillants seront rendus publics au cours de l’automne 2021.

Une réforme parlementaire est un processus long et complexe qui vise à apporter des modifications au fonctionnement de l’institution et à l’organisation des travaux parlementaires (règles, procédure parlementaire, etc.). Plusieurs éléments doivent être considérés et font l’objet de discussions entre les députées et députés.

Les informations recueillies dans les groupes de discussion de la Table citoyenne nourriront la réflexion des parlementaires sur les changements qui pourraient être apportés aux mécanismes de participation publique de l’Assemblée nationale.

Vous désirez participer?