National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > The ABC of the National Assembly > Committee Clerks

Committee Clerks

At the National Assembly, take on a challenge that matches your skills!

Coordinating the activities of a parliamentary committee

Committee clerks play a very exciting, albeit little-known, role. Seated to the left of the parliamentary committee chair during committee sittings, they advise the chair on parliamentary procedure and the implementation of the Standing Orders. Their role also consists in keeping minutes of committee sittings and recording committee decisions.

Committee clerks participate in all the planning stages of committee proceedings. They prepare the order of business before each sitting and make sure that members have the documentation they need to accomplish their work. They attend to the committee's correspondence, certify and distribute its official papers and receive the briefs and other papers tabled before the committee. They also coordinate research, analysis or consultations on subjects determined by the committee. In addition, they act as a liaison between the committee and the offices of the parliamentary leaders and whips, the ministers and deputy-ministers, and the CEOs of public- and private-sector bodies.

Parliamentary Committees

A committee is a work group composed of a set number of MNAs who examine issues within the committee's particular area of competence. For example, the members of the Committee on Institutions primarily deal with questions of justice and public security.

Committee proceedings

List of parliamentary committees



Catherine is a committee clerk at the National Assembly: "My work is extremely diversified and each mandate is unique and brings its own set of challenges. For instance, when the committee begins consultations on an issue, I organize the hearings and get in touch with the groups that will be heard. I also answer any questions individuals and organizations may have."

 

 

Interested in this job?

To become a committee clerk, candidates must

  • have been passed a public service recruitment competition and belong to the socio-economic research and planning officer job class or agree to a reclassification as such; and
  • hold a university degree, preferably in law, political science, social sciences or another field relevant to the job description.

In addition, a minimum of three years' experience as a professional in a related field would be considered an asset.

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Accueil > L'ABC de l'Assemblée > Secrétaires de commission

Secrétaires de commission

À l'Assemblée nationale, relevez un défi à la hauteur de vos compétences !

Coordonner les activités d'une commission parlementaire

Les secrétaires de commission parlementaire font un travail tout autant méconnu que passionnant ! Assis à la gauche du président ou de la présidente d'une commission parlementaire durant les séances, ils conseillent ces derniers sur les procédures et l'application du règlement. Leur rôle consiste également à rédiger le procès-verbal de la séance en consignant les décisions prises.

Les secrétaires participent à toutes les étapes de la planification des travaux d'une commission. Ainsi, ils préparent l'ordre du jour avant chaque séance et s'assurent que les membres disposent de la documentation nécessaire à leur travail. Ils rédigent la correspondance, veillent à la diffusion et à la certification des documents officiels de la commission et reçoivent les mémoires et autres documents déposés auprès de celle-ci. Ils coordonnent des recherches, des analyses et des consultations sur des sujets déterminés par la commission. Enfin, ils assurent la liaison entre la commission et les cabinets des leaders et des whips, les cabinets ministériels, les bureaux des ministres et sous-ministres et les dirigeants d'organismes publics et privés.

Les commissions parlementaires

Une commission est un groupe de travail composé d'un nombre restreint de députés chargés de l'examen des questions relevant de sa compétence. Par exemple, les députés membres de la Commission des institutions examinent notamment les questions en lien avec la justice et la sécurité publique.

Le travail en commission

Liste des commissions parlementaires



Catherine est secrétaire de commission parlementaire à l'Assemblée nationale : « Mon travail est très diversifié et chaque mandat comporte ses particularités et ses défis. Par exemple, lorsque la Commission entreprend des consultations sur un sujet, je vois à organiser les auditions et je communique avec les groupes qui seront entendus. Je réponds aux questions des citoyens et des organismes. »

 

 

Cet emploi vous intéresse ?

Les secrétaires de commission doivent :

  • Avoir réussi un concours de recrutement de la fonction publique et appartenir à la classe d'emploi d'agente ou d'agent de recherche et de planification socio-économique ou accepter un reclassement à ce titre.
  • Être titulaires d'un diplôme de premier cycle, de préférence en droit, sciences politiques, sciences sociales ou dans une autre discipline appropriée aux attributions de l'emploi.

De plus, un minimum de trois années d'expérience professionnelle dans un domaine connexe représente un atout.