To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Parliamentary Diplomacy > Ontario-Québec Parliamentary Association

Ontario-Québec Parliamentary Association


Following discussions between the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, Mr. David Warner and the Speaker of the Assemblée nationale du Québec, Mr. Jean-Pierre Saintonge, it was agreed to create a bilateral parliamentary association.

For these reasons, both Speakers met in the city of Québec on May 21 and 22, 1991, and parliamentary delegations led by the Speakers, met in Toronto on May 31 and June 1, 1991 in order to create the «Ontario-Québec Parliamentary Association» and determine its statutes.


Article 1 - Composition

The Ontario-Québec Parliamentary Association is a permanent association comprised of two sections uniting Members from both Assemblies.

Article 2 - Objectives

The Association's objectives are to foster the development of interparliamentary cooperation between both Assemblies and thereby serve to further understanding particularly in the fields of legislation, culture, economics, science and technology, and generally reinforce greater friendship, goodwill and mutual understanding.

It may recommend to both Assemblies, governments and other organizations any undertaking or measure conducive to developing a policy of cooperation.

Article 3 - Presidents

The two Speakers will chair their respective sections.

Article 4 - Meetings

The Association shall hold one meeting in each year, alternately in Ontario and in Québec, and special meetings if deemed necessary.

Each conference is held at the joint invitation of Speakers of both sections and is chaired by the head of the delegation of the host section.

As a rule, the delegations are comprised of the Speaker or his or her representative and seven parliamentarians.

Article 5 - Committee

A committee comprised of two parliamentarians of each Assembly designated by their Speaker is formed to oversee the preparation and the follow-up of meetings for the Association.

Signed in Toronto, this first day of June, nineteen hundred ninety one

David Warner
Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario