To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > The ABC of the National Assembly > The National Assembly

The National Assembly

Composed of 125 Members who are elected by the people in each of Québec's electoral divisions, the National Assembly is the place where Québec's elected representatives debate questions of public interest and exercise their roles as legislators and overseers.

The Assembly is the cornerstone of Québec's democracy and a fundamental institution of the State. Its Members sit in the Parliament Building, which is located in Québec's capital, Québec City.

The Assembly is separate from both the Parliament and the Government; it has the power to appoint the heads of certain government bodies (officers of the National Assembly) who must provide independent and impartial leadership.

The Administration

The Assembly Administration is composed of civil servants who provide support services to the Members and help increase the Assembly's visibility both at home and abroad.