To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > The ABC of the National Assembly > The National Assembly > Officers of the National Assembly

Officers of the National Assembly

Officers of the National Assembly are appointed to public office by the Assembly, a procedure which helps ensure that they remain independent and impartial in the performance of their duties.
There are six such officers, accountable to the National Assembly. They are

These appointments are made on a motion of the Premier and must be supported by two thirds of the Members of the National Assembly.

Before being appointed these officers may, as with other persons appointed by the National Assembly under an Act (see the Other persons appointed by the National Assembly section below), be heard in a public hearing by the members of the Committee on the National Assembly. The decision to hold such a hearing is made by the Committee's steering committee.

The Ethics Commissioner

The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for the administration of the Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly (PDF, 1 MB). For this purpose, he or she exercises the duties of office and any other function assigned by law to the Ethics Commissioner.

For example, the Ethics Commissioner publishes a summary of the statements regarding private interests that Members are required to file each year with the Commissioner disclosing their private interests as well as those of their family members. The Commissioner provides advisory opinions to Members on questions concerning their obligations under the Code, particularly in relation to:

  • incompatible offices or posts;
  • conflicts of interest;
  • gifts and benefits.

The Ethics Commissioner may publish guidelines for Members regarding the application of the Code, and organize activities to inform Members and the general public about the Commissioner's role and the application of the Code.

The Ethics Commissioner may, on his or her own initiative or at the request of a Member, conduct an inquiry or verification to determine if a deputy or minister may have violated any provision of the Code. The Ethics Commissioner submits the results to the president of the National Assembly.

Within the first three years following the coming into force of the Code, and every five years after that, the Ethics Commissioner must submit a report to the president of the National Assembly on the carrying out of the Code and on the advisability of amending it. The report is referred to the competent parliamentary committee for examination.

Term of office: five years, renewable

More on the Ethics Commissioner

The French Language Commissioner

The French Language Commissioner monitors

The Commissioner may give opinions and make recommendations to the National Assembly, the Government or the Minister of the French Language, and inform the public about any issue relating to the French language in Québec. The Commissioner may perform any audits and investigations he or she considers useful for the performance of the functions of the office.

Term of office: seven years, non-renewable. At the expiry of the term, the Commissioner remains in office until replaced.

The Lobbyists Commissioner

The Lobbyists Commissioner monitors and controls lobbying activities directed at public office holders such as ministers, Members and their personnel.

This task entails inquiring into or investigating contraventions of the Lobbying Transparency and Ethics Act and of the Code of Conduct for Lobbyists.

Term of office: five years, renewable

More on the Lobbyists Commissioner

The Chief Electoral Officer

The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible for

  • overseeing polls in Québec (general elections, by-elections, municipal elections, school board elections, referendums);
    • polling is an electoral event which most often consists in the casting and counting of ballots and the declaration of results.
  • maintaining and updating the permanent voters list;
  • monitoring political party funding and electoral spending.

The Chief Electoral Officer informs electors of their electoral rights and has the power to make inquiries and initiate legal proceedings.

The Chief Electoral Officer chairs the Commission de la représentation électorale. This commission establishes the boundaries of Québec's electoral divisions.

Term of office: seven years, renewable

More on the Chief Electoral Officer

The Public Protector

The Public Protector helps people or groups who believe a department or body of the Québec government has made an error or treated them unfairly. The Public Protector also acts to prevent such incidents.

In addition, people may apply to the Public Protector when they consider that a health and social services establishment has infringed on their rights or failed to act as it should.

Term of office: five years, renewable

More on the Public Protector

The Auditor General

Through his or her audits, the Auditor General backs up the Parliament in its watch-dog function with regard to the funds and other public property the National Assembly entrusts to the Government, its bodies and its enterprises.

The Auditor General's reports to the National Assembly inform the Members on how the Government, its bodies and its enterprises have managed public funds.

Term of office: 10 years

More on the Auditor General

Other persons appointed by the National Assembly

In addition to the aforementioned persons, the appointment of other officers or members of public bodies must be approved by two-thirds of the Members of the Assembly.

They are: