National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Advanced search in biographical notices of MNAs

To find out who your MNA is, enter your postal code or the name of your electoral division. For biographical information about an MNA, enter his or her name or the name of his or her electoral division.

Enter keyword before doing search.
Find an MNA using the following criteria: OR
 

Find an MNA using the following criteria:

OR

These fields cannot be used in combination with the Keyword field in an advanced search.

Search by:

Enter keyword or select session to obtain results.

Skip Navigation LinksAn Evolving Role

The parliamentary system has changed significantly since the Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada first sat in December 1792. The same is true for the office of President.

Origins of the Office

The office of President, or Speaker, originated in the British institutions of the end of the 14th century. The Members of the parliamentary assemblies of that time elected one of their own to speak on their behalf before the king, hence the title of Speaker (Orateur in French).

The Speaker thus occupied the highest political position an elected official could hold in Québec in the first half of the 19th century. In fact, the office of Speaker was the first to become a paid parliamentary position in the early 19th century. The Speaker also acted as leader of the parliamentary majority and as spokesman with the governor of the time.

Until the 17th century, holding the position of Speaker entailed certain risks in England. As spokesman for the House, the Speaker had to convey the Members’ decisions and complaints to the king, with the risk of offending him and being punished for it. In memory of that heavy responsibility, a newly elected President, today’s Speaker, still traditionally feigns resistance when being escorted to the President’s Throne by the Premier and the other party leaders.

The 19th Century, an Age of Change

The introduction of responsible government in 1848 profoundly transformed the Speaker’s role. The ministers became accountable to the Assembly for their acts.

In this new context, the Premier gained in importance while the Speaker lost the role of representing the parliamentary majority. During that period, the office of President as we know it today took on its current form, with the new responsibility of protecting the rights of MNAs.

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Accueil > Députés > Le président de l’Assemblée nationale > L'évolution de la présidence

Recherche avancée dans la section Députés

Trouver un député

Liens Ignorer la navigationL'évolution de la présidence

Le système parlementaire a beaucoup évolué depuis la toute première séance de l'Assemblée législative du Bas-Canada, en décembre 1792. Il en est de même de la fonction de président.

Les origines de la fonction

Le poste de président tire son origine des institutions britanniques de la fin du 14e siècle. Les députés des anciennes assemblées parlementaires élisaient un des leurs pour parler en leur nom au roi, d'où le titre d'orateur ou de speaker.

Le président occupe donc, dans la première moitié du 19e siècle, le poste politique le plus élevé pour un élu au Québec. Il agit comme chef de la majorité parlementaire et porte-parole officiel des élus auprès du gouverneur. C'est d'ailleurs le premier poste parlementaire qui, au début du 19e siècle, soit devenu une fonction rémunérée.

Jusqu'au 17e siècle, en Angleterre, le poste de président comporte de nombreux risques. En tant que porte-parole de la Chambre, il doit transmettre les décisions et les critiques des élus au roi, au risque de le mécontenter et de subir un châtiment. C'est en souvenir de cette lourde responsabilité qu'aujourd'hui encore, la tradition veut qu'un nouveau président fasse mine de résister à son élection quand le premier ministre et les autres chefs l'accompagnent de son siège vers le trône présidentiel.

Le 19e siècle, une époque de changements

L'introduction du gouvernement responsable en 1848 transforme profondément le rôle de l'orateur. Les ministres deviennent responsables de leurs actes devant l'Assemblée.

Dans ce nouveau contexte, le premier ministre prend une plus grande importance, tandis que l'orateur perd son rôle de représentant de la majorité parlementaire. C'est donc à cette époque que la fonction de président prend la forme que l’on connaît aujourd'hui. Une nouvelle responsabilité s'impose pour celui-ci, soit d'être le gardien des droits de l'ensemble des députés.