National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > Members > The President of the National Assembly > The President’s Threefold Role

Advanced search in biographical notices of MNAs

To find out who your MNA is, enter your postal code or the name of your electoral division. For biographical information about an MNA, enter his or her name or the name of his or her electoral division.

Enter keyword before doing search.
Find an MNA using the following criteria: OR
 

Find an MNA using the following criteria:

OR

These fields cannot be used in combination with the Keyword field in an advanced search.

Search by:

Enter keyword or select session to obtain results.

Skip Navigation LinksThe President’s Threefold Role

The office of President, or Speaker, is the oldest and highest parliamentary function. Elected by the other Members of the National Assembly at the beginning of a Legislature, the President does not take part in debates, and votes only to break a tie. Once elected, the President ceases to participate in party activities.

The President plays 3 main roles.

Presiding Over the Assembly’s Proceedings

The President enforces the Standing Orders of the National Assembly to maintain order, ensure the proper conduct of proceedings and protect the rights of MNAs. The President also sees to it that the Standing Orders are amended as necessary to keep up with an evolving parliamentary context.

Directing the Assembly’s Administrative Services

The President ensures that the administrative services of the National Assembly meet the needs of its Members. The President is a central player, always in contact with the Leaders, House Leaders and Whips of the different parliamentary groups.

The President also

  • prepares annual budget estimates and submits them to the Office of the National Assembly for approval
  • is responsible for security in the buildings and for the protection of people and property at the Assembly

Representing the Assembly

The President plays a key role in making the National Assembly known throughout Québec and internationally, among other things by developing relations with other parliaments. Through various outreach and educational activities, the President promotes democratic values and raises awareness about the work of MNAs.

The President ranks fourth in order of precedence in Québec, after the Lieutenant-Governor, the Premier and the cardinals.

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Accueil > Députés > Le président de l’Assemblée nationale > Le triple rôle du président

Recherche avancée dans la section Députés

Trouver un député

Liens Ignorer la navigationLe triple rôle du président

La présidence est la plus ancienne et la plus élevée des fonctions parlementaires. Le président est élu par ses collègues députés au début d'une législature. Il ne participe pas aux débats et il ne vote qu'en cas d'égalité des voix. De plus, il cesse de participer aux activités de son parti dès son élection.

Le président exerce 3 rôles principaux.

Arbitrer les séances de l'Assemblée

Le président applique le Règlement de l’Assemblée afin de maintenir l'ordre, d'assurer le bon déroulement des travaux et de protéger les droits de tous les députés. Il veille aussi à l'évolution de ce Règlement pour qu'il s'adapte aux réalités du travail parlementaire de demain.

Administrer les services de l'Assemblée

Le président s'assure que l'administration de l'Assemblée réponde adéquatement aux besoins des députés. Il est un acteur central en constante communication avec les chefs, les leaders et les whips des différents groupes parlementaires.

De plus, le président :

  • prépare annuellement les prévisions budgétaires et les soumet à l'approbation du Bureau de l'Assemblée
  • est responsable de la sécurité des édifices et de la protection des biens et des personnes.

Représenter l'Assemblée

Le président joue un rôle déterminant dans le rayonnement de l'Assemblée au Québec et sur la scène internationale, entre autres, en développant des relations avec les autres Parlements. Le président est un grand promoteur des valeurs démocratiques et fait connaître le travail des députés à la population à l'aide de diverses activités de communication et d'éducation.

Le président est le 4e personnage en importance selon l'ordre protocolaire de l'État québécois, après le lieutenant-gouverneur, le premier ministre et les cardinaux.