National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Skip Navigation LinksParliamentary Personnel

Certain members of the administrative staff of the National Assembly work to ensure that parliamentary sittings run smoothly. 

They are

Consult the Assembly seating plan (PDF, 131 KB, in French) to see the places reserved for the Secretary General, the Table officers and the Sergeant-at-Arms in the National Assembly Chamber.

Secretary General

The Secretary General is the highest-ranking public servant in the Assembly. The Secretary General serves as the main advisor to the President of the National Assembly on issues of parliamentary procedure, i.e. the set of rules that govern parliamentary proceedings.

In the National Assembly Chamber, the Secretary General sits at the head of the Table, in front of the Throne and facing the Mace.

For more on the Table, the Throne and the Mace 

A Role Determined by British Parliamentary Tradition

The role of the Secretary General has its roots far back in British parliamentary tradition. Since Parliament cannot function without keeping a record of its decisions, votes and resolutions, the Secretary General is responsible for keeping the Votes and Proceedings, a concrete legal record of proceedings.

The importance of the Secretary General’s duties is evoked by a papyrus motif that is carved into the woodwork of the Chamber to recall the role of the scribe in ancient Egypt.

The notion of time is essential to the functioning of Parliament. In the past, the Clerk (as the Secretary General was called) would consult the clock that faces the Throne and the Secretary General in the Chamber and record the time. Today, screens display each Member’s speaking time for all to see.

Table Officers

The Table officers are members of the Assembly personnel who advise the President, or Speaker, on parliamentary procedure. The MNAs may also consult them.

When specific questions regarding procedure are raised, the President may call on the Table officers for precedents or the proper application of a rule. The President has the final decision in all such questions. The decisions rendered by the President of the Assembly combine to form parliamentary jurisprudence.

The Table officers keep a record of the interventions made by MNAs and their speaking time in the House.

The Table officers are also called upon during recorded divisions, when they must name—one after another, from memory—each Member of the National Assembly and the Member’s electoral division, in order for their votes to be recorded.

The tools used by the Secretary General, Table officers and President of the Assembly are

In the National Assembly Chamber, the Table officers are seated at the Table, on either side of the Secretary General.

Sergeant-at-Arms

The Sergeant-at-Arms ensures the safety of MNAs and maintains decorum by

  • making sure that MNAs are afforded appropriate speaking conditions
  • maintaining order on the floor and in the galleries of the National Assembly Chamber
  • carrying the Mace 

A desk in the Chamber is reserved for the Sergeant-at-Arms. 

Pages

Pages are responsible for setting up and tidying the Chamber and committee rooms before and after each sitting. They serve the President, MNAs and their political attachés, the Secretary General and the Table officers during sittings of the Assembly. They also distribute documents that have been tabled and bills that have been introduced—both in the Assembly and in committee—to MNAs.

Pages serve as examples of the decorum that must be observed in the Assembly. They organize and play a role in the daily procession by the President and Vice-presidents (and on occasion the Lieutenant-Governor) into and out of the Assembly Chamber.

 
 

Additional Information

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Liens Ignorer la navigationPersonnel parlementaire

Des membres du personnel de l’administration de l’Assemblée nationale collaborent à la tenue des séances pour en assurer le bon déroulement.

Ce sont :

Consulter le diagramme de l’Assemblée (PDF, 131 Ko) pour situer les lieux où prennent place le secrétaire général, les secrétaires adjoints et le sergent d’armes dans la salle de l’Assemblée nationale.

Secrétaire général

Le secrétaire général est le plus haut fonctionnaire de l’Assemblée. Durant les travaux parlementaires, il agit à titre de premier conseiller du président de l’Assemblée en matière de procédure parlementaire, c’est-à-dire l’ensemble des règles relatives au déroulement des travaux parlementaires.

Dans la salle de l’Assemblée nationale, le secrétaire général occupe le siège au bout de la table des greffiers, juste devant le fauteuil du président et face à la masse.

Pour en savoir plus sur la table des greffiers, le fauteuil du président et la masse

Un rôle déterminé par la tradition parlementaire britannique

Le rôle du secrétaire général remonte très loin dans l’histoire parlementaire britannique. Comme un Parlement ne peut fonctionner sans enregistrer ses décisions, ses votes et ses résolutions, le secrétaire général tient le procès-verbal qui fixe ces éléments dans un cadre juridique.

Les importantes fonctions du secrétaire général sont évoquées par les motifs de papyrus sculptés sur les boiseries de la Chambre, qui rappellent le rôle des scribes dans l’Égypte ancienne.

La notion du temps est incontournable au Parlement. Autrefois, le greffier (nom donné à la fonction de secrétaire général) consultait l’horloge qui orne la salle de l’Assemblée nationale, face à son siège et à celui du président, pour pouvoir consigner l’heure dans les registres. Aujourd’hui, des écrans indiquent à tous le temps de parole alloué à chaque intervenant.

Secrétaires adjoints

Les secrétaires adjoints sont des membres du personnel de l’Assemblée qui agissent à titre de conseillers en procédure parlementaire auprès du président. Ils sont aussi au service de tous les députés.

Quand des questions particulières touchant la procédure sont soulevées, les secrétaires adjoints peuvent rappeler au président des décisions antérieures ou l’application d’une règle. La décision ultime sur la question soulevée appartient au président. Les décisions qu’il rend constituent la jurisprudence parlementaire.

Les secrétaires adjoints tiennent également un registre des interventions des députés et un registre de leur temps de parole durant les travaux de l’Assemblée.

On voit aussi les secrétaires adjoints à l’œuvre lors des votes par appel nominal. Ils doivent, de mémoire, nommer tour à tour chaque député et sa circonscription pour permettre l’enregistrement de son vote.

Les outils de travail du secrétaire général, des secrétaires adjoints et du président sont

Dans la salle de l’Assemblée nationale, les secrétaires adjoints prennent place à la table des greffiers, de chaque côté du secrétaire général.

Sergent d’armes

Le sergent d’armes exerce des tâches reliées à la sécurité des députés et au décorum :

  • il s’assure que les députés puissent s’exprimer dans des conditions adéquates
  • il veille au respect de l’ordre sur le parquet et dans les gradins de la salle de l’Assemblée nationale
  • il est le porteur de la masse.

Un pupitre est réservé au sergent d’armes dans la salle de l’Assemblée nationale.

Pages

Les pages ont pour fonction de voir à l’aménagement de la salle de l’Assemblée nationale et des salles de commissions avant et après chaque séance. Ils répondent aux demandes de la présidence, des députés, de leurs attachés politiques ainsi que des secrétaires pendant les séances de l’Assemblée. Ils distribuent aussi aux députés les documents déposés et les projets de loi présentés tant à l’Assemblée qu’en commission.

Les pages donnent l’exemple quant au décorum à observer à l’Assemblée. Ils organisent et jouent un rôle dans le cérémonial quotidien d’entrée et de sortie entourant le président et les vice-présidents et, à certaines occasions, le lieutenant-gouverneur.

 
 

En complément