National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > Parliamentary Proceedings > Assembly Proceedings > Parliamentary Debate Reconstitution
  • Live on the Web

Parliamentary Debate Reconstitution

Since 1867, there have been many successive legislatures in the Parliament of Québec. But it was only beginning in 1964, with the arrival of the Journal des débats (Hansard), that the debates of the Members of the National Assembly were reproduced in full. Before that time, there was no verbatim record of what was said in the House and, in 1973, the Assembly decided to continue historian Marcel Hamelin’s work to reconstitute the parliamentary debates from before 1963.

The absence of a Hansard prior to 1964 was due, in part, to the customs and practices of the time, but also to the associated publishing costs. In the 19th century, a number of journalists tried their hand at debate reconstitution. In 1871, Roch-Pamphile Vallée published some debates in his newspaper Écho de la session. The Desjardins brothers, Alphonse and Louis-Georges, and Narcisse Malenfant followed Vallée’s example and published an account of the parliamentary debates for the period 1878 to 1892. To illustrate the work of Alphonse Desjardins, the National Assembly Library digitized the transcripts of the debates of the 1st Session of the 4th Legislature (June 4, 1878 to July 20, 1878). This unique edition, produced manually, is a good example of the work involved in reconstituting debates from the newspapers of the time.

The results of these efforts were piecemeal and impermanent. Aware of historical gaps, various historians set to work to produce the most complete reconstitution of the debates possible. The debates of the 1837 Session of the Parliament of Lower Canada were reconstituted by Gilles Gallichan and published in the Cahiers des Dix (Nos. 49 and 50). Elizabeth Nish reconstituted the debates of the Union government sessions (1840–1867) and Marcel Hamelin reconstituted those of the Legislative Assembly of Québec for the years 1867 to 1878. However, pursuing the work for a longer period required much more than just a handful of people, which is why, in 1974, the National Assembly of Québec formed a team of historians to pick up where Marcel Hamelin had left off. The National Assembly debate reconstitution team’s work plan excluded the debates of the standing committees and the Legislative Council.

The sources needed to reconstitute the debates included official documents (Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Quebec, agendas, the Assembly’s Standing Orders and rules of procedure), brochures, major daily newspapers’ parliamentary columns (the only pre-1963 records of what was said in the House) and any other document considered relevant. With this basic file in hand, historians or university interns rigorously compared and analyzed major dailies’ parliamentary columns to establish the order of the speakers and choose the most complete texts. This comparison generated a relatively comprehensive version that meets strict quality criteria. Debate reconstitution requires a thorough knowledge of parliamentary procedure and of the historical context surrounding each session.

Once all the sittings had been reconstituted, the other Québec newspapers published at the time were closely read. By comparing the reconstituted text to these newspapers, missing sentences or parts of speeches could be added to flesh out the base version. To make the speeches and statements easier to read, the references were not included in the final version. However, the National Assembly Library can provide the specific reference for any passage on request.

The goal of the parliamentary debate reconstitution project was to report what MNAs said in the Legislative Assembly as faithfully as possible. Meaning was scrupulously respected. Anglicisms, such as the word bill (rather than the French term "projet de loi"), were left in the French text, as were canadianisms and other expressions of the time, to reflect the level of language used by the parliamentarians.

More information on the reconstitution of parliamentary debates can be obtained by consulting the methodological introduction to the Débats de l'Assemblée législative de la 8e législature, 1893-1897, Québec, Journal des Débats, 1980. For information on the work of journalists, see the following articles by Jocelyn Saint-Pierre: La chronique parlementaire dans les quotidiens québécois de 1871 à 1921 : partisane ou impartiale? in the magazine Communication, Vol. 17, No. 2, December 1996; and Les 125 ans d'une institution parlementaire, la Tribune de la presse au Québec published in La Tribune de la presse vue par..., Québec, Les Presses de l'Assemblée nationale, 1996.

The print version of the Débats de l'Assemblée législative and the complete reproduction of the National Assembly debates in the Journal des débats since 1963 are available in major libraries as well as at the National Assembly Library. All sessions (1867-current) can now be accessed on the National Assembly website’s Journal des débats (Hansard) page.

For more information

Please contact the National Assembly Library:

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Accueil > Travaux parlementaires > Travaux de l'Assemblée > La reconstitution des débats parlementaires

La reconstitution des débats parlementaires

Depuis 1867, le Parlement québécois a vu se succéder plusieurs législatures, mais il faudra attendre jusqu'en 1964, avec l'arrivée du Journal des débats, pour qu'une reproduction intégrale des débats des députés de l'Assemblée nationale soit entreprise. C'est pour combler cette absence d'un Hansard (Journal des débats) que l'Assemblée nationale décidait de poursuivre, à partir de 1973, le travail entrepris par l'historien Marcel Hamelin, soit la reconstitution des débats parlementaires antérieurs à 1963.

L'absence d'un Hansard est due, en partie, aux coutumes et aux pratiques de l'époque, mais aussi aux coûts qu'engendre une telle publication. Au XIXe siècle, des journalistes tentent des expériences, comme Roch-Pamphile Vallée qui, avec son Écho de la session, publie quelques débats en 1871. Les frères Alphonse et Louis-Georges Desjardins et Narcisse Malenfant suivent l'exemple de Vallée et publient un compte rendu des débats pour la période 1878 à 1892. D'ailleurs, pour avoir une idée du travail accompli par Alphonse Desjardins, la Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée nationale a procédé à la numérisation des débats de la 1re session de la 4e Législature (du 4 juin 1878 au 20 juillet 1878). Cette édition unique, faite manuellement, illustre bien le travail de reconstitution à partir des diverses sources journalistiques de l'époque.

Rien d'exhaustif et de permanent n'est donc né de ces diverses tentatives. Conscients des lacunes historiques, quelques historiens se sont mis à l'oeuvre pour reconstituer une version la plus complète possible des débats. Les débats de la session 1837 du Parlement du Bas-Canada ont été reconstitués par Gilles Gallichan et publiés dans le Cahier des Dix (nos 49 et 50). Elizabeth Nish a entrepris la reconstitution des débats des sessions tenues sous le gouvernement de l'Union (1840-1867). Pour sa part, Marcel Hamelin a reconstitué les débats de l'Assemblée législative du Québec pour les années 1867 à 1878. Mais au-delà de cette période, l'ampleur du travail dépassait largement les ressources de quelques individus. C'est pourquoi l'Assemblée nationale du Québec a mis sur pied en 1974 une équipe d'historiens pour parachever le travail de Marcel Hamelin et reconstituer les débats de l'Assemblée nationale. Le plan de travail de l'équipe de la reconstitution des débats parlementaires n'inclut pas les débats des comités permanents (commissions parlementaires) ni ceux du Conseil législatif.

La documentation nécessaire à la reconstitution des débats inclut des documents officiels (Journaux de l'Assemblée législative, ordres du jour, règlements de l'Assemblée et règles de procédure), des brochures, les chroniques parlementaires des grands quotidiens de l'époque, seuls témoins avant 1963 des paroles échangées en Chambre, et tout autre document jugé pertinent. Une fois ce dossier de base rassemblé, un historien ou un stagiaire universitaire confronte et analyse, selon une méthode rigoureuse, les chroniques parlementaires des grands journaux afin de fixer l'ordre des intervenants et de choisir les textes les plus complets. De cette confrontation de textes naît une version relativement exhaustive qui répond à de rigoureux critères de qualité. Le travail de reconstitution requiert une bonne connaissance de la procédure parlementaire et du contexte historique dans lequel se déroule une session.

Une fois toutes les séances reconstituées, un second dépouillement est réalisé à partir des autres journaux du Québec publiés à l'époque. En comparant le texte reconstitué à ces journaux, il est possible d'ajouter des phrases ou des portions de discours manquantes afin de compléter la version de base. Pour faciliter la lecture des discours et des interventions, les références n'apparaissent pas dans l'édition finale. Cependant, il est toujours possible de communiquer avec la Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée nationale pour obtenir, au besoin, la référence précise de chaque passage.

Le but de la reconstitution des débats est de rapporter le plus fidèlement possible tous les propos tenus par un député à l'Assemblée législative. Le sens des textes a été scrupuleusement respecté. Des anglicismes, tel que le mot « bill » pour projet de loi, ont été conservés ainsi que des canadianismes et autres expressions de l'époque afin de respecter le niveau de langage utilisé par les parlementaires.

Toute personne qui voudrait en savoir plus sur le processus de la reconstitution des débats pourra consulter l'introduction méthodologique des Débats de l'Assemblée législative de la 8e législature, 1893-1897, Québec, Journal des Débats, 1980. Par ailleurs, celui ou celle qui s'intéresse au travail des journalistes tirera profit des deux textes suivants dont l'auteur est Jocelyn Saint-Pierre : La chronique parlementaire dans les quotidiens québécois de 1871 à 1921 : partisane ou impartiale ? , dans la revue Communication, vol. 17, n° 2, décembre 1996; et Les 125 ans d'une institution parlementaire, la Tribune de la presse au Québec publié dans La Tribune de la presse vue par..., Québec, Les Presses de l'Assemblée nationale, 1996.

La version imprimée des Débats de l'Assemblée législative ainsi que la reproduction intégrale des débats de l'Assemblée nationale faite par le Journal des débats depuis 1963 sont disponibles dans les grandes bibliothèques ainsi qu'à la Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée nationale. Toutes les sessions sont maintenant accessibles dans le site Internet de l'Assemblée nationale. Consultez à cet effet la page Journal des débats (1867 à ce jour).

Pour en savoir plus

Pour plus d'informations au sujet de la reconstitution des débats, veuillez vous adresser à la Bibliothèque de l'Assemblée nationale :

  • Téléphone :
    • Région de Québec : 418 643-4408
      Numéro sans frais : 1 866 députés (337-8837)
  • Courriel : bibliotheque@assnat.qc.ca