National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > Visitors > The Parliament Building and Gardens > The Parliament Gardens

Skip Navigation LinksThe Parliament Gardens

Many species of trees, shrubs and plants representative of the wide variety of flora native to Québec can be observed when walking around the gardens surrounding the Parliament Building.

You can also become familiar with the in-ground and raised garden beds of edible plants created through the collaborative efforts of Université Laval and Les Urbainculteurs. The plants represent some of the crops typically grown in Québec and are meant to promote urban agriculture, an increasingly popular practice around the world.

To get more information about our thematic gardens, listen to audio podcasts, watch video clips on gardening tips, and much more, go to our Parliament gardens interactive page

Enjoy your walk! 

 

 

A Short History of the Parliament Gardens

In 1986 the National Assembly mandated specialists from Université Laval to develop and maintain the grounds surrounding the Parliament Building. Since then, every year students get an opportunity to hone their skills in ornamental horticulture under the supervision of an agronomist.

Both annual and perennial plants adorn the Parliament Building grounds. The display of annual plants starts in May, while the perennial plants put on a show every year.

Blue Flag Iris

Blue flag iris
Blue flag iris

One of the special perennials found on the parliament grounds is the blue flag iris. This plant, which derives its name from Greek mythology and is symbolic of a rainbow, became the floral emblem of Québec in 1999. It blooms in early June and its flowers last for about three weeks. The blue flag iris is found mainly in marshes because it does well in wet land areas.

The blue flag iris is not to be confused with the white lily, which is the fleur-de-lis symbol on the Québec flag. The white lily is not the provincial flower of Québec because it is not native to the province.

 

Woodland Garden

The creation of the woodland garden was part of a more extensive development plan for the parliament grounds undertaken by the Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec in partnership with the National Assembly of Québec and the city of Québec. The silviculture work begun in 2002 was, to a certain extent, the continuation of a design for a wooded area featuring various species of trees native to Québec originally envisioned by the architect of the Parliament Building, Eugène-Étienne Taché.

Yellow Birch

Yellow birch
Yellow birch

Québec’s forests are very important to Quebecers. In 1993, the Government of Québec chose the yellow birch (Betula alleghaniensis Britton) as the provincial tree.

In addition to being one of Québec’s finest hardwoods, the yellow birch (commonly called "merisier" in Québec) is noteworthy for its variety of uses and its commercial value. Right from the time the first settlers arrived to share this land with the Amerindians, the yellow birch has been important to Quebecers, as they learned to use it to make furniture and other useful everyday objects... and also to admire its beautiful foliage every fall.

 

Trees on the Parliament Grounds

The names of the different species of trees on the National Assembly’s woodland garden are given below:

  • White Elm (Ulmus Americana)
  • Red Oak (Quercus rubra)
  • Crab Apple (Malus)
  • Ash (Fraxinus)
  • Maple (Acer)
  • Yellow Birch (Betula alleghaniensis Britton)

 

Abuzz with Bees

For some years now, the National Assembly has taken part in the "urban honey" project by installing beehives atop the Jean-Antoine-Panet Building. The bees forage the flowers in and around the Parliament Gardens. The fact that pesticides and insecticides are not used in cities is an asset for urban beehives. In the 2017 honey season, the Rucher Turlu apiary plans two honey harvests, one in summer and another in fall. The National Assembly beehives were installed on the rooftop in mid-May and their inhabitants are already hard at work…busy as bees!

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Accueil > Visiteurs > L'hôtel du Parlement et ses jardins > Les jardins de l'Assemblée

Liens Ignorer la navigationLes jardins de l'Assemblée

En vous promenant dans les jardins de l'hôtel du Parlement, vous pourrez observer différentes essences d'arbres, d'arbustes et de plantes représentant la grande variété de la flore du Québec.

Vous pourrez vous familiariser avec des aménagements de végétaux comestibles cultivés en pleine terre et hors sol, une réalisation en collaboration avec l'Université Laval et les Urbainculteurs. En plus de mettre en valeur certaines cultures emblématiques du Québec, ils vous permettront de découvrir l'agriculture urbaine, une pratique en plein essor partout dans le monde.

Pour avoir plus d'information sur les zones thématiques des jardins, écouter des balados audio, regarder des capsules vidéo sur des trucs de jardinage, et bien plus encore, allez sur la page interactive des jardins.

Bonne promenade !

 

 

Historique et présentation des jardins

L’Assemblée nationale a confié, en 1986, l’aménagement et l’entretien des terrains de l’hôtel du Parlement à des spécialistes de l’Université Laval. Cette entente, renouvelée depuis, permet à des étudiants de s’initier à l’horticulture ornementale,  sous la surveillance d’un agronome.

Sur les terrains de l’hôtel du Parlement, se trouvent deux types de plantes : les annuelles et les vivaces. La saison des annuelles débute en mai, tandis que les vivaces durent des années et fleurissent spontanément.

Iris versicolore

Iris versicolore dans les jardins de l’Assemblée
Iris versicolore

Parmi les plantes vivaces, vous pourrez observer l’iris versicolore, qui est la fleur emblématique du Québec depuis l’automne 1999. Le nom iris tire son origine de la mythologie grecque et symbolise l'arc-en-ciel. L'iris versicolore est une plante vivace qui fleurit au début de  juin et dure trois semaines. On le trouve surtout autour des marécages, car il aime bien avoir les pieds dans l'eau.

Il ne faut pas confondre l’iris versicolore avec le lys blanc, qui orne le drapeau du Québec. Le lys n’est pas notre emblème floral, car il ne pousse pas à l’état sauvage au Québec.  

 

Jardin boisé

La création du jardin boisé est issue d’un plan directeur d’aménagement de la colline Parlementaire préparé par la Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec en partenariat avec l’Assemblée nationale du Québec et la Ville de Québec. Des travaux de sylviculture, faits en 2002, rappellent les diverses essences d'arbres présentes au Québec, conformément à ce qu'avait imaginé Eugène-Étienne Taché, concepteur de l'hôtel du Parlement.  

Bouleau jaune (merisier)

Bouleau jaune dans les jardins de l’Assemblée
Bouleau jaune

Pour souligner l'importance que la population  québécoise accorde à sa forêt, le gouvernement du Québec a choisi le bouleau jaune (Betula alleghaniensis Britton) comme arbre emblématique en 1993.

Familièrement appelé « merisier », le bouleau jaune, en plus d'être l'un des bois nobles les plus connus au Québec, se distingue par la variété de ses usages et par sa valeur commerciale. De l’époque des Amérindiens jusqu'à nos jours, cet arbre a toujours fait partie du quotidien des Québécois. Ceux-ci ont appris à le travailler pour en tirer des meubles et, l'automne venu, tous admirent les couleurs de son feuillage.

 

Arbres sur le terrain de l’hôtel du Parlement

Voici des arbres qui se trouvent dans le boisé-jardin de l’Assemblée nationale :

  • Orme d’Amérique (Ulmus americana en latin)
  • Chêne rouge (Quercus rubra en latin)
  • Pommetier (Malus en latin)
  • Frêne (Fraxinus en latin)
  • Érable (Acer en latin)
  • Bouleau jaune (Betula alleghaniensis britton en latin)

 

Abeilles dans les parages

L'Assemblée a pris part au projet Miel urbain, une initiative des Urbainculteurs, en collaboration avec la Miellerie de Champlain. C'est ainsi que des ruches ont été installées sur des toits de Québec, dont celui de l'édifice Jean-Antoine Panet. Les abeilles ont butiné les fleurs des jardins de l'Assemblée et des environs. Comme il n'y a pas de pesticides ou d'insecticides en ville, cela représente un atout pour les ruches urbaines.