National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Skip Navigation LinksHistorical Capsules

Did you know?

  • On February 9, 1883, the contract for the construction of the Parliament Building’s main facade was signed. Construction began the following May. The plans for the main entrance already included the motto created by Eugène-Étienne Taché: “Je me souviens” (I remember).

  • The lights on the Parliament Building’s central tower were installed in 1908 to mark Québec City’s Tercentennial. Since then, they have remained lit whenever the Assembly is sitting, night or day.

  • At the end of the 19th century, it was the enviable lot of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly to have living quarters in the Parliament Building, a hub of social activity where political eminences regularly rubbed shoulders with the capital’s more prosperous citizens. The Speaker of the Legislative Council also had private quarters in the Parliament Building.

  • The Library data bank contains the names of all the contractors who worked on the Parliament Building from 1876 to 1909 and the nature of the work they carried out. This treasure trove of information will be further enriched once archival research has been carried out covering the years 1909 to 1980.

  • The presence of the coats of arms of the Netherlands and Belgium, in the Parliament Building’s main hall, remains shrouded in mystery. Research has shown that they were installed sometime between 1966 and 1975, but no clues have surfaced as to exactly when or why.

  • Of the 22 bronze statues arrayed on the facade of the Parliament Building, 16 were installed between 1890 and 1926. The project was subsequently put on hold until 1965 when, over the next four years, the six remaining bronzes were cast and installed.

  • While the Parliament Building was still under construction, the Québec Skating Club built an impressive structure housing a skating rink close by. Given the location of the rink, right in front of the Parliament Building, Eugène-Étienne Taché repeatedly called for its demolition. The structure was finally pulled down in 1889.

  • In 1904, Henri Beau’s painting, The Arrival of Champlain at Quebec, was mounted on the wall above the Speaker’s throne in the Legislative Council Chamber. The Government had it removed in 1926 and replaced by Charles Huot’s The Sovereign Council. Beau’s painting is now at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec.

  • In the fall of 1881, workers began digging the foundations for the Parliament Building’s facade. To cut costs, the government authorized the contractor, William John Piton, to hire Québec Prison inmates who would be paid less than regular labourers.

  • As early as 1875, Eugène-Étienne Taché began outlining plans for a polygon-shaped library to be built in the Parliament Building courtyard. This was not to be, however, and in 1912, a power plant was erected in the courtyard to house the Assembly’s heating and electrical systems.

  • On June 20, 1985, the quadrangle of buildings and property bordered by what are identified today as René-Lévesque boulevard east, Honoré-Mercier avenue, Grande Allée and des Parlementaires street was declared a national historic site under the Cultural Property Act.

  • Le Parlementaire Restaurant was inaugurated on December 14, 1917, and was called Le Café du Parlement until 1970. It was originally a gathering place for the Members and personnel of the National Assembly as well as the press. It opened its doors to the general public in 1968 and four years later was renamed Le Parlementaire.

  • In 1913, painter and illustrator Charles Huot was asked to create an historic fresco for the ceiling of the Legislative Assembly Chamber. Entitled Je me souviens (I remember), the painting represents the province of Québec in the guise of a woman handing a laurel wreath to some of Québec’s most important historical figures.

  • In August 1980, the Government of Québec issued an order in council to replace the names of its five parliamentary buildings. Since 1938, they had been identified simply by the letters A, B, C, D and E.

  • A bronze statue of Louis Jolliet (1645–1700), early explorer and discoverer of the Mississippi, is included among the historical figures on the facade of the Parliament Building. Did you know that Eugène-Étienne Taché was related to this heroic figure of New France?

  • In 1875, the conservative government in power at the time decided to build a new legislative building. It is interesting to note that then Premier Charles-Eugène Boucher de Boucherville did not sit in the Legislative Assembly with the elected Members but rather in the Legislative Council, to which he was appointed in 1867 to represent the Montarville Division.

  • In 1885, elected Members had to sit in the Legislative Council Chamber because construction work in the Legislative Assembly Chamber was not yet finished. This meant that Legislative Council Members had to meet in the library until the “Red Room” became available to them in 1886.

  • From 1911 to 1926, a statue of Queen Victoria and another of King Edward VII stood in alcoves on opposite sides of the Speaker’s throne in the Legislative Assembly Chamber. Because they were often the subject of criticism, the statues were removed in January 1926.

  • Eugène-Étienne Taché drew his inspiration for the Parliament Building from the architectural style of the Second Empire, which had been popular in France since the expansion of the Louvre between 1848 and 1852.

 

It happened on...

  • January 27, 1887 - The session had barely begun when Premier Louis-Olivier Taillon, unable to command a majority in the House after the 1886 elections, saw his government voted down by the opposition forces led by Honoré Mercier. Taillon’s reign, a mere four days, remains the shortest of all Québec premiers.

  • January 31, 1889 - While in Québec City to give two recitals, celebrated opera singer Albani (Emma Lajeunesse) found time to attend a sitting of the National Assembly. By arrangement of the Speaker, a special chair was placed on the floor of the House to accommodate the distinguished visitor.

  • February 7, 1913 - Artist Charles Huot announced that his mural-sized painting The Language Debate had been successfully mounted above the Speaker’s throne in the National Assembly Chamber. The painting was officially unveiled the following November.

  • March 27, 1884 - The Assembly sat in temporary rooms set up on the ground floor of today’s Parliament Building, which was still under construction. The Parliament Building on Côte de la Montagne had burned down, and the Assembly was constrained to this costly solution to avoid jeopardizing the opening of the 3rd Session of the 5th Legislature.

  • April 8, 1886 - For the first time ever, the Assembly held a sitting in the present-day National Assembly Chamber. A contemporary photograph reveals the Chamber’s unfinished state, with its unpainted walls and Spartan decor.

  • April 19, 1883 - Fire destroyed the Parliament Building on Côte de la Montagne, leaving Members without a roof over their heads. The solution? Temporary rooms were set up and furnished at great cost in the present-day Parliament Building, still under construction at the time.

  • June 3, 1878 - Québec stonemasons went on strike at the Parliament Building construction site. Two days later, the contractors brought in strikebreakers from Montréal and Trois-Rivières. Riots broke out in Saint-Roch and the army was called in to control the situation. When the dust had settled, two people were dead and several others injured.

  • June 17, 1884 - The cornerstone of the main-entrance portico was laid in an official ceremony presided by Québec’s Lieutenant-Governor, Théodore Robitaille. Among the “time-capsule” objects placed inside the stone were a commemorative plaque, an official photograph of Mr. Robitaille and a number of newspapers.

  • August 18, 1881 - The contract for construction of the foundation for the facade of the Parliament Building was signed.

  • August 26, 1890 - The bronze sculpture A Halt in the Forest, by Louis-Philippe Hébert, was given a prominent place in front of the main entrance to the Parliament Building. It received an award at the Paris World Exposition before being shipped to Québec City.

  • September 1, 1880 - The construction of the Parliament Building was coming along: the Department of Agriculture was first to move in, followed by the province’s Secretariat.

  • October 11, 1884 - Two violent dynamite explosions shook the facade of the Parliament Building then under construction. There were many rumours as to the identity of the perpetrators, but investigators found no leads and after a few months, the investigation was dropped.

  • October 20, 1887 - The first interprovincial conference was convened by Premier Mercier in Québec City. Discussions were held on provincial autonomy and federal subsidies.

  • October 25, 1836 - Eugène-Étienne Taché was born in the parish of Saint-Thomas (Montmagny). At age 13, he went to Toronto to study civil engineering and surveying at Upper Canada College. He completed his training in Québec City in 1860 alongside Charles Baillairgé, Québec’s most prominent architect at the time.

  • December 9, 1939 - On this date, a new coat of arms was adopted by an order in council of the Government of Québec to better reflect Québec history and heraldic rules. The new coat of arms features three fleurs-de-lis (stylized lily flowers) in comparison with the two found in Québec’s original coat of arms.

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

Assemblée nationale du Québec - Retour à l'accueil

L'utilisation du calendrier requiert que Javascript soit activé dans votre navigateur.
Pour plus de renseignements

Liens Ignorer la navigationCapsules historiques

Saviez-vous que...

  • C’est le 9 février 1883 qu’est signé le contrat pour la construction de la façade de l'hôtel du Parlement. Les travaux sont lancés au mois de mai suivant. Sur les plans de la porte principale figure la devise créée par Eugène-Étienne Taché, « Je me souviens ».

  • Les lumières sur le campanile de la tour principale du parlement sont installées en 1908 à l’occasion du tricentenaire de Québec. Depuis ce temps, elles brillent à toute heure du jour et de la nuit chaque fois que siège le Parlement.

  • À la fin du XIXe siècle, l’« orateur » de l’Assemblée a ses appartements à l’hôtel du Parlement. Il s’agit d’une place enviée, car c’est le lieu de rendez-vous de la haute société politique et de la bourgeoise de la capitale. L’orateur du Conseil législatif dispose lui aussi d’appartements privés dans l’édifice.

  • La Bibliothèque possède une banque de données répertoriant tous les entrepreneurs qui ont travaillé à l'hôtel du Parlement et la nature de leurs travaux de 1876 à 1909. Cette mine d’information extraordinaire doit être complétée par d’autres fouilles dans les archives pour couvrir la période allant de 1909 à 1980.

  • Un mystère entoure la présence des armoiries des Pays-Bas et de la Belgique dans le hall principal du parlement. Quelle est leur signification ? À quelle occasion ont-elles été réalisées ? Des recherches établissent qu’elles sont apparues entre 1966 et 1975, sans toutefois que l’on en sache davantage.

  • De 1890 à 1928, 16 des 22 statues sont installées sur la façade de l’hôtel du Parlement, après quoi ce projet de décoration est mis en veilleuse ? Les six derniers bronzes seront réalisés et dévoilés de 1965 à 1969.

  • Pendant la construction du parlement, le Quebec Skating Club bâtit tout près de là le Skating Rink, un imposant édifice abritant une patinoire. Eugène-Étienne Taché réclame constamment sa démolition parce qu’il est situé juste devant le parlement. Ce sera fait en 1889.

  • En 1904, la toile d’Henri Beau intitulée L’arrivée de Champlain à Québec est installée au-dessus du trône de l’orateur du Conseil législatif. Le gouvernement décide de la remplacer en 1926 par Le Conseil souverain, de Charles Huot. L’œuvre de Beau est aujourd’hui conservée au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec.

  • À l’automne 1881, c’est le début des travaux de terrassement pour la construction de la façade de l’hôtel du Parlement. Pour réduire les coûts, le gouvernement permet à l’entrepreneur William John Piton d’utiliser des détenus de la prison de Québec payés à un salaire moindre que des ouvriers ordinaires.

  • Dès 1875, Eugène-Étienne Taché dessine les esquisses d’une bibliothèque de forme polygonale située dans la cour intérieure de l'hôtel du Parlement. C'est toutefois la « bâtisse des pouvoirs », abritant les systèmes de chauffage et d'électricité, qui sera construite dans la cour en 1912.

  • Le 20 juin 1985, le quadrilatère formé aujourd’hui par le boulevard René-Lévesque Est, l'avenue Honoré-Mercier, la Grande Allée et la rue des Parlementaires est déclaré « site historique national » en vertu de la Loi sur les biens culturels ?

  • Le Café du Parlement est inauguré le 14 décembre 1917 ? D’abord réservé aux députés, au personnel de l’Assemblée et aux journalistes, il ouvre ses portes au public en 1968. Il est renommé Le Parlementaire quatre ans plus tard.

  • En 1913, Charles Huot, peintre et illustrateur, se voit confier la tâche de créer une fresque historique pour orner le plafond de la salle de l’Assemblée. Son œuvre, intitulée Je me souviens, représente la province de Québec sous les traits d’une femme qui tend aux grands personnages de l’histoire du Québec une couronne de laurier.

  • À partir d’août 1980, le gouvernement du Québec remplace par décret les anciens noms des édifices parlementaires qui étaient désignés depuis 1938 par les lettres A, B, C, D et E.

  • La statue de Louis Jolliet (1645-1700), explorateur et découvreur du Mississipi, se trouve parmi le panthéon des personnages qui ornent la façade de l’hôtel du Parlement. Saviez-vous qu’Eugène-Étienne Taché avait un lien de parenté avec ce héros de la Nouvelle-France ?

  • En 1875, le gouvernement conservateur décide de faire construire un nouveau palais législatif ? Rappelons que le premier ministre d’alors, Charles-Eugène Boucher de Boucherville, ne siège pas à l’Assemblée parmi les députés. Il siège plutôt à la Chambre haute, en tant que conseiller législatif de la division de Montarville depuis 1867.

  • En 1885, les députés siègent d’abord dans la salle du Conseil législatif, car les travaux dans la salle de l’Assemblée ne sont pas complétés. Les conseillers législatifs, quant à eux, sont installés dans la bibliothèque avant d’occuper le « Salon rouge » en 1886.

  • De 1911 à 1926, les statues de la reine Victoria et d’Édouard VII ornent les niches situées de part et d’autre du trône du président, dans la salle de l’Assemblée législative ? Souvent critiquées, les deux statues sont retirées en janvier 1926.

  • Les dessins d’Eugène-Étienne Taché s’inspirent du style Second Empire, populaire en France depuis les travaux d’agrandissement du Louvre, réalisés entre 1848 et 1852 ?

 

C'est arrivé le...

  • 27 janvier 1887 - Dès l’ouverture de la session, le premier ministre Louis-Olivier Taillon, incertain de sa majorité après le scrutin de 1886, est renversé en Chambre par le chef de l’opposition, Honoré Mercier. Taillon n’aura gouverné que 4 jours, un record de longévité pour un premier ministre du Québec.

  • 31 janvier 1889 - La célèbre cantatrice Albani (Emma Lajeunesse), venue donner deux concerts à Québec, assiste pendant quelques instants à la séance de l’Assemblée, sur le parquet, où l’orateur a fait placer un siège spécial pour elle.

  • 7 février 1913 - Le peintre Charles Huot annonce qu’il a terminé le marouflage du Débats sur les langues. La toile est installée au-dessus du fauteuil de l’« orateur ». Cette œuvre sera dévoilée au mois de novembre suivant.

  • 27 mars 1884 - Les parlementaires siègent dans des locaux temporaires aménagés au rez-de-chaussée de l'actuel hôtel du Parlement, alors en construction. L’incendie du parlement de la côte de la Montagne force cette coûteuse solution pour permettre l’ouverture de la 3session de la 5législature.

  • 8 avril 1886 - Première séance tenue dans le Salon vert de l'Assemblée législative. Une photographie d’époque montre que les murs de la Chambre ne sont pas encore peints et que la décoration est minimaliste.

  • 19 avril 1883 - Un incendie détruit l’hôtel du Parlement de la côte de la Montagne et jette les parlementaires à la rue. Pour y remédier, on doit aménager et meubler à grands frais des chambres temporaires dans l’actuel parlement dont la construction n’est pas encore terminée.

  • 3 juin 1878 - Les tailleurs de pierres de Québec déclenchent la grève sur le chantier du parlement. Le 5, les entrepreneurs engagent des briseurs de grève de Montréal et de Trois-Rivières. Des émeutes éclatent dans Saint-Roch; l’intervention de l’armée fera deux morts et plusieurs blessés avant que le calme revienne.

  • 17 juin 1884 - Cérémonie officielle de la pose de la pierre angulaire du portique de l’entrée principale par Théodore Robitaille, lieutenant-gouverneur du Québec. Dans la cavité de la pierre, on dépose, entre autres,  une plaque commémorative, une photographie officielle de Robitaille et quelques journaux.

  • 17 juillet 1876 - L’arpenteur Henry O’Sullivan mesure la superficie du « Cricket Field » et détermine la profondeur du roc pour bâtir les fondations de l’hôtel du Parlement. Ce travail, indispensable à la préparation des plans définitifs, est la première étape de l’ouverture du chantier de construction de l’édifice.

  • 18 août 1881 - Signature du contrat pour construire les fondations de la façade de l'hôtel du Parlement.

  • 26 août 1890 - La halte dans la forêt, sculpture de Louis-Philippe Hébert, est installée devant le parlement. Avant de parvenir à Québec, cette œuvre a reçu un prix à l'Exposition universelle de Paris.

  • 1er septembre 1880 - Les travaux de construction de l'hôtel du Parlement avancent : un premier ministère, celui de l'Agriculture, emménage dans le nouvel édifice, suivi du Secrétariat de la province.

  • 11 octobre 1884 - Deux violentes explosions à la dynamite ébranlent la façade de l'hôtel du Parlement en voie de construction. D’innombrables rumeurs courent sur l’identité des auteurs de l’attentat. Une enquête est menée, mais elle est abandonnée quelques mois plus tard, faute de pistes.

  • 20 octobre 1887 - Ouverture à Québec de la première conférence interprovinciale convoquée par le premier ministre Mercier. On y discute de l’autonomie provinciale et des subventions fédérales.

  • 25 octobre 1836 - Eugène-Étienne Taché naît dans la paroisse Saint-Thomas (Montmagny). À l’âge de 13 ans, il s’initie au métier d’ingénieur civil et d’arpenteur au Upper Canada College de Toronto. Il termine son apprentissage à Québec, en 1860, auprès de Charles Baillairgé, l’architecte le plus éminent à cette époque.

  • 9 décembre 1939 - Par décret, le gouvernement du Québec adopte de nouvelles armoiries plus conformes à l’histoire et aux règles héraldiques. Elles comptent désormais trois fleurs de lys, au lieu des deux sculptées à l’origine dans la pierre du fronton de l’hôtel du Parlement.