National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

National Assembly of Québec - Return to homepage

To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Members > Parliamentary and Ministerial Office Holders
  • Live on the Web

Parliamentary and Ministerial Office Holders at the Time of Dissolution

On August 23, 2018, the Lieutenant-Governor dissolved the National Assembly. A general election will be held on Monday, October 1st, 2018. The call for an election ended the 41st Legislature.

When a legislature is dissolved, MNAs, whose terms coincide with the duration of the legislature, cease to hold office.

Cabinet ministers remain in office until their successors are named, even if they were personally defeated in an election.

On the dissolution of the Assembly, the President and Vice-president stay in office until they are replaced or reappointed by the new Assembly. They also perform the duties of the Office of the National Assembly for as long as the Assembly is dissolved.

The standing parliamentary committees cease to exist following a dissolution. However, since the Standing Orders provide for their existence, their names and areas of competence do not change.

For more on parliamentary offices and cabinet ministers


Additional Information