To use the Calendar, Javascript must be activated in your browser.
For more information

Home > Parliamentary Diplomacy > Multilateral Relations > Parliamentary Confederation of the Americas

Parliamentary Confederation of the Americas

Image Parliamentary Confederation of the Americas

A Brief History

In 1997, on the initiative of the National Assembly of Québec, 400 parliamentarians gathered in Québec City to launch the Parliamentary Confederation of the Americas (COPA). Hailing from 28 countries of the Americas, these delegates created a representative, independent and pluralist forum for discussion. Since then, COPA parliamentarians have regularly held general assemblies and adopted recommendations intended for the governments of the American continent.

COPA has six thematic working committees and a Network of Women Parliamentarians. In 2010-2012, the President of the National Assembly was the President of COPA. The following positions are currently held by Members of the National Assembly:

  • representative of the Québec Secretariat on the Executive Committee;
  • representative of the first host Assembly on the Executive Committee;
  • chair of the Committee on Democracy and Peace;
  • rapporteur for the Committee on Education, Culture, Science and Technology; and
  • representative of the Network of Women Parliamentarians' founding Assembly and Secretariat host on the Network's Executive Committee.

The Assembly hosts one of COPA's three secretariats and is responsible for the Secretariat of the Network of Women Parliamentarians.

The Québec Branch of COPA fosters ties with COPA-member parliaments.

Gabrielle Angers-Gosselin

Steering Committee

Other Documents

No document available